hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm
hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
Hello,
I am used to launching a web browser (Firefox) as an external tool to view my XML files. After migrating to a new system, I am facing the problem that, every time I do so, Oxygen (version 22) displays, at the bottom of the screen and under the heading "Results", a warning message that Firefox produces upon launching (namely the message "Gtk-Message: 12:41:41.774: Not loading module "atk-bridge": The functionality is provided by GTK natively. Please try to not load it"). How can it keep Oxygen from displaying this message? (I tried to keep Firefox from generating the message, without success.)
Thanks in advance for your help!
Wolfhart
I am used to launching a web browser (Firefox) as an external tool to view my XML files. After migrating to a new system, I am facing the problem that, every time I do so, Oxygen (version 22) displays, at the bottom of the screen and under the heading "Results", a warning message that Firefox produces upon launching (namely the message "Gtk-Message: 12:41:41.774: Not loading module "atk-bridge": The functionality is provided by GTK natively. Please try to not load it"). How can it keep Oxygen from displaying this message? (I tried to keep Firefox from generating the message, without success.)
Thanks in advance for your help!
Wolfhart
-
- Posts: 9431
- Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm
Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
Hi Wolfhart,
Oxygen 22 is in our end of life so officially we no longer support it in any way:
https://www.oxygenxml.com/eol.html
Coming back to your question, when you define an external tool in the Oxygen Preferences->"External Tools" page there is a checbox named "Show output message". If you uncheck that checkbox does the results view still show up when launching the tool from Oxygen?
Regards,
Radu
Oxygen 22 is in our end of life so officially we no longer support it in any way:
https://www.oxygenxml.com/eol.html
Coming back to your question, when you define an external tool in the Oxygen Preferences->"External Tools" page there is a checbox named "Show output message". If you uncheck that checkbox does the results view still show up when launching the tool from Oxygen?
Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm
Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
Thank you for the reply (and sorry for the late reply on my part; I was expecting to be notified of your reply by email).
To your question: The checkbox "Show output messages" has always been unchecked. When I check it, Oxygen produces a longer "Results" message, namely:
With "Show output messages" unchecked, the message is shorter, namely (as stated in my original post):
To your question: The checkbox "Show output messages" has always been unchecked. When I check it, Oxygen produces a longer "Results" message, namely:
Code: Select all
Started: /usr/bin/firefox http://127.0.0.1:1111/Zettelkasten/Zettel/1697.xml
Gtk-Message: 18:25:06.602: Not loading module "atk-bridge": The functionality is provided by GTK natively. Please try to not load it.
Process ended with exit code: 0
Code: Select all
Gtk-Message: 18:26:43.782: Not loading module "atk-bridge": The functionality is provided by GTK natively. Please try to not load it.
-
- Posts: 9431
- Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm
Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
Hi,
Looking at how we keep track of that setting in our code, a started process has both an error and an output stream. The "Show output message" controls if the process output stream should be shown or not. But it seems that the error stream from the process always gets displayed by us.
I'm curious if in the command line you use to start the web browser you could add a parameter and redirect its output messages to /dev/null ...
Regards,
Radu
Looking at how we keep track of that setting in our code, a started process has both an error and an output stream. The "Show output message" controls if the process output stream should be shown or not. But it seems that the error stream from the process always gets displayed by us.
I'm curious if in the command line you use to start the web browser you could add a parameter and redirect its output messages to /dev/null ...
Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm
Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
How can I do that? Currently, the command I use isI'm curious if in the command line you use to start the web browser you could add a parameter and redirect its output messages to /dev/null ...
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/firefox http://127.0.0.1:1111/Zettelkasten/Zettel/${cfne}
Code: Select all
2> /dev/null
Code: Select all
1> /dev/null
-
- Posts: 9431
- Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm
Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
Hi,
I'm on Mac OS so what I tried might not work for you, you might need to create some kind of a script file named for example "runFF.sh" with the content in my case looking like:
Then in Oxygen in the external tool command line invoke the script something like:
Regards,
Radu
I'm on Mac OS so what I tried might not work for you, you might need to create some kind of a script file named for example "runFF.sh" with the content in my case looking like:
Code: Select all
/Applications/Firefox.app/Contents/MacOS/firefox-bin $1 &> /dev/null
Code: Select all
sh /Users/raducoravu/Desktop/runFF.sh http://127.0.0.1:1111/Zettelkasten/Zettel/${cfne}
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm
Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)
This works, thank you! In my case, the content of the script is
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/firefox $1 2> /dev/null
Jump to
- Oxygen XML Editor/Author/Developer
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- ↳ DITA (Editing and Publishing DITA Content)
- ↳ SDK-API, Frameworks - Document Types
- ↳ DocBook
- ↳ TEI
- ↳ XHTML
- ↳ Other Issues
- Oxygen XML Web Author
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen Content Fusion
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen JSON Editor
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen PDF Chemistry
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen Feedback
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen XML WebHelp
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- XML
- ↳ General XML Questions
- ↳ XSLT and FOP
- ↳ XML Schemas
- ↳ XQuery
- NVDL
- ↳ General NVDL Issues
- ↳ oNVDL Related Issues
- XML Services Market
- ↳ Offer a Service