hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
WolfhartT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm

hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Post by WolfhartT »

Hello,

I am used to launching a web browser (Firefox) as an external tool to view my XML files. After migrating to a new system, I am facing the problem that, every time I do so, Oxygen (version 22) displays, at the bottom of the screen and under the heading "Results", a warning message that Firefox produces upon launching (namely the message "Gtk-Message: 12:41:41.774: Not loading module "atk-bridge": The functionality is provided by GTK natively. Please try to not load it"). How can it keep Oxygen from displaying this message? (I tried to keep Firefox from generating the message, without success.)

Thanks in advance for your help!
Wolfhart
Radu
Posts: 9059
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Post by Radu »

Hi Wolfhart,

Oxygen 22 is in our end of life so officially we no longer support it in any way:
https://www.oxygenxml.com/eol.html

Coming back to your question, when you define an external tool in the Oxygen Preferences->"External Tools" page there is a checbox named "Show output message". If you uncheck that checkbox does the results view still show up when launching the tool from Oxygen?

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
WolfhartT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm

Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Post by WolfhartT »

Thank you for the reply (and sorry for the late reply on my part; I was expecting to be notified of your reply by email).

To your question: The checkbox "Show output messages" has always been unchecked. When I check it, Oxygen produces a longer "Results" message, namely:

Code: Select all

Started: /usr/bin/firefox http://127.0.0.1:1111/Zettelkasten/Zettel/1697.xml
Gtk-Message: 18:25:06.602: Not loading module "atk-bridge": The functionality is provided by GTK natively. Please try to not load it.
Process ended with exit code: 0
With "Show output messages" unchecked, the message is shorter, namely (as stated in my original post):

Code: Select all

Gtk-Message: 18:26:43.782: Not loading module "atk-bridge": The functionality is provided by GTK natively. Please try to not load it.
Radu
Posts: 9059
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Post by Radu »

Hi,
Looking at how we keep track of that setting in our code, a started process has both an error and an output stream. The "Show output message" controls if the process output stream should be shown or not. But it seems that the error stream from the process always gets displayed by us.
I'm curious if in the command line you use to start the web browser you could add a parameter and redirect its output messages to /dev/null ...
Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
WolfhartT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm

Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Post by WolfhartT »

I'm curious if in the command line you use to start the web browser you could add a parameter and redirect its output messages to /dev/null ...
How can I do that? Currently, the command I use is

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/firefox http://127.0.0.1:1111/Zettelkasten/Zettel/${cfne}
I tried adding

Code: Select all

2> /dev/null
or

Code: Select all

1> /dev/null
to this command. The only effect that this had was that Firefox opened an additional tab with URL "file:///dev/null" (apart from a tab with the file to be displayed). In Oxygen, the error message is still there. So what do I need to add to the command?
Radu
Posts: 9059
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Post by Radu »

Hi,
I'm on Mac OS so what I tried might not work for you, you might need to create some kind of a script file named for example "runFF.sh" with the content in my case looking like:

Code: Select all

/Applications/Firefox.app/Contents/MacOS/firefox-bin $1 &> /dev/null
Then in Oxygen in the external tool command line invoke the script something like:

Code: Select all

sh /Users/raducoravu/Desktop/runFF.sh http://127.0.0.1:1111/Zettelkasten/Zettel/${cfne}
Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
WolfhartT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 7:36 pm

Re: hide "Results" when launching external tool (web browser)

Post by WolfhartT »

This works, thank you! In my case, the content of the script is

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/firefox $1 2> /dev/null
Post Reply