Phantom "not available to resolve link information"?

Having trouble installing <oXygen/>? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Carl
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:19 am

Phantom "not available to resolve link information"?

Post by Carl » Thu May 23, 2019 9:50 pm

When I generate WebHelp, I see many errors like this:

Code: Select all

The file <filename> is not available to resolve link information.
However, I have double-checked the cross reference and it is correct. I am able to click the hyperlink in the topic to trigger the destination file. When I compile my WebHelp, the link works perfectly.

Why is Oxygen giving me these errors?

Going back to my post history, I recall bringing this up back in December and I don't recall seeing a response to this thread:

post50606.html?hilit=not%20available%20 ... ion#p50606

Radu
Posts: 6453
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: Phantom "not available to resolve link information"?

Post by Radu » Fri May 24, 2019 9:12 am

Hi Carl,

There are various pre-processing stages in the publishing engine and possibly one of those stages does not properly resolve the links.
What Oxygen version are you using? If you are using an external DITA Open Toolkit version, what version is that?
I looked in our email archive for discussions with you, found two of them, based on two different forum posts, but not on the "50606" post.
Could you possibly send us again a sample to reproduce the problem (support@oxygenxml.com)?
Sorry for the inconvenience. Whenever we do not reply in 2-3 days please write us again, we either did not receive the email or there was some human error on our part.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

Carl
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:19 am

Re: Phantom "not available to resolve link information"?

Post by Carl » Fri May 24, 2019 8:13 pm

Hi Radu.

I am using OxygenXML Author 20.1 build 2018122403. I don't believe that we are using an external DITA Open Toolkit (I inherited this project; how do I verify?).

Does this link work for you? It's the actual link associated with the last message I sent in the old thread:

post50606.html?hilit=not%20available%20 ... ion#p50651

I have created a zipped randomized version of my project and shared it with you from my Google Drive--you should see an email.

Thanks.
Carl

Radu
Posts: 6453
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: Phantom "not available to resolve link information"?

Post by Radu » Mon May 27, 2019 10:25 am

Hi Carl,

Thanks for the samples, focusing only on this problem:

Code: Select all

[topicpull] I/O error reported by XML parser processing file:/D:/projects/eXml/frameworks/dita/DITA-OT3.x/plugins/org.dita.base/xsl/preprocess/process_edit.dita: D:\projects\eXml\frameworks\dita\DITA-OT3.x\plugins\org.dita.base\xsl\preprocess\process_edit.dita (The system cannot find the file specified)
[topicpull] file:/C:/Users/radu_coravu/Desktop/project/processes/process_clone.dita:7:5: [DOTX031E][ERROR]: The file process_edit.dita is not available to resolve link information. 
The "process_clone.dita" has a shortdesc element and inside that short description there is a reference to the "process_edit.dita". There is a bug in the publishing engine which describes the same behavior and the bug was not yet fixed:

https://github.com/dita-ot/dita-ot/issues/3078

The short description is also used for tooltip information when hovering links in the table of contents. So for example if in the table of contents you hover over the "process_clone.dita", the tooltip might not properly expand to include the linked topic.
Ideally for now you could try to avoid links added to shortdescriptions because it's quite hard to define how the publishing engine could come up with a text tooltip description from such a construct.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

Carl
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:19 am

Re: Phantom "not available to resolve link information"?

Post by Carl » Mon May 27, 2019 8:00 pm

Thanks for the info, Radu. I will remove all links from the <shortdesc> element to avoid those messages.

BTW, I don't get tooltips when I hover over the links in the TOC of my WebHelp.

Post Reply