Find and replace

Are you missing a feature? Request it's implementation here.
Alantin
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:47 pm

Find and replace

Post by Alantin » Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:23 pm

I'm not sure whether or not this has been discussed before, but I've got two gripes with the entire Find and Replace approach.

When I click Find, I expect a Find dialog, when I click Replace I expect a Find/Replace dialog. Currently, both are integrated in the same dialog. Admittedly, this makes sense from a reuse point of view, but not necessarily from a usability point of view.

My second gripe is with the Replace to End button. It took me a while to figure out that is sort of a Replace All button in that it replaces all found occurences from the cursor position to the end of the file. However, Replace All implies that all found occurences within the document will be replaced and that's something I sorely miss.

sorin_ristache
Posts: 4144
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 2:12 pm

Re: Find and replace

Post by sorin_ristache » Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:34 pm

Hello,
Alantin wrote:When I click Find, I expect a Find dialog, when I click Replace I expect a Find/Replace dialog. Currently, both are integrated in the same dialog. Admittedly, this makes sense from a reuse point of view, but not necessarily from a usability point of view.
I think a single dialog for both find and replace is easier to use. I have to remember only one shortcut and the behavior of only one dialog, if I decide that I want to replace some find matches I don't have to close a dialog and open another one. Other applications with larger user bases opted for such integration too.

Regards,
Sorin

sorin_ristache
Posts: 4144
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 2:12 pm

Re: Find and replace

Post by sorin_ristache » Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Hello,
Alantin wrote:It took me a while to figure out that is sort of a Replace All button in that it replaces all found occurences from the cursor position to the end of the file. However, Replace All implies that all found occurences within the document will be replaced and that's something I sorely miss.
We will add a Replace All button to the Find/Replace dialog.

Thank you for the suggestion,
Sorin

adrian
Posts: 2540
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:01 pm

Post by adrian » Thu Feb 09, 2006 6:35 pm

Hi,
We added a 'Replace All' button in the Find/Replace dialog.
We also added a quick find panel(firefox style) which is invoked by pressing CTRL-ALT-F.
Both features will probably be available in version 7.1.

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com

Post Reply