Button click handler and Save form data

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
harris914

Button click handler and Save form data

Post by harris914 »

Hello, i'm new to Oxygen XML and starting learning it few days back.

Following the form-controls sample i have created a form in xml file. Some textfields and a button. Now I want to save the form data whatever is entered in the text fields and then button is clicked, just like an HTML form.
How can i achieve it? I have went through the forums and documentation, but somewhat my imagination of its working is a bit blurry.
Please can anybody help me in this regard. Basically there are two things i want to do:
1. Get form data and save it somewhere
2. Button click handler (i associated it with Document Type but it still shows error)

Regards
cristi_talau

Re: Button click handler and Save form data

Post by cristi_talau »

Hello,

1. Oxygen XML Editor offer you an easy way to edit XML documents in a graphical way. You do not have to submit the form - your changes are saved in the edited XML file when you "save". You mentioned that you wanted to save the data somewhere. Maybe explaining better your use-case will help us provide a better advice.

2. You must bind an Author Action to the button. These actions are defined at a framework level. You can find more about the button form-control here [1]. And about actions here [2].

If you have more questions, please let us know.

Best,
Cristian

[1] https://www.oxygenxml.com/doc/versions/ ... ditor.html
[2] https://www.oxygenxml.com/doc/versions/ ... olbar.html
harris914

Post by harris914 »

Basically i'm preparing a demo in which i have created a form with three fields using CSS oxy functions.
Now what i want is that when I click the button, I should get the values written in the fields and display them again below the form but not in text fields, rather with just labels.