Flacky XSLT Debugger

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
sderrick

Flacky XSLT Debugger

Post by sderrick »

I've been using Oxygen for about 5 years now, upgrading with every new release. Sometimes I regret ever upgrading. The debugger has become more and more unreliable with every upgrade. I continue to expect a better experience and continue to be disappointed.

Local variables may or may not be available in the variables view.
The xslt process restarts when stepping through pieces of code for no apparent reason? The script runs without errors on the command line or using a defined transform scenario in Oxygen?
Error messages about undefined variables that don't exist in my code?
These are a few of the varied problems I experience in the debugger. Sometimes I cringe when I know I will have to run it because it is so frustrating to have the tool I need(and paid for) crap out on me so consistently! I have rarely had this experience with the many C++, Java or other language debuggers I've used over the last 30 years...

Restarting Oxygen sometimes fixes things, sometimes not.

I have always used the Linux Stand Alone XML Editor. I've always used close to the Oracle's latest JDK, I'm on 1.8.0_25 now.

My scripts are somewhat large and complex as are some of the xml files I run against, but I can't believe that is the problem.

Do others have similar experiences? Any workarounds. I use the 'XWatch' view a lot to see local variables when the 'Variable" window says they are unavailable, but that is such a hassle. I put breakpoints past the line in the code where stepping through or over will cause the debugger to crash or report some odd error that makes no sense and does not occur if I "run" by it, this is also a major PITA. Once I "run" by the line I can then step fine until I come to some other line of code the debugger can't handle stepping over but runs over fine... :evil:

Scott :cry:
sderrick

Re: Flacky XSLT Debugger