Toggle Languages in WebHelp Responsive Output

Are you missing a feature? Request its implementation here.
felixliu
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:04 am

Toggle Languages in WebHelp Responsive Output

Post by felixliu »

Hi, is there any way to add a feature of toggling languages to the webhelp responsive output?
That feature is commonly seen on other document websites, such as the language toggle near the upper right corner on this Google document website (https://cloud.google.com/docs).
Costin
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 6:04 pm

Re: Toggle Languages in WebHelp Responsive Output

Post by Costin »

Hi felixliu,

There is no out-of-the-box support for this in the current implementation of WebHelp .
What you could do, would be to generate separate WebHelp output for each language in part, then you could try aggregating the outputs.
As for the language toggle, this may be added through a customization of your own.
On this page you can seen a example of a customization showing how to add custom content after the Search element in WebHelp, which you could use as a starting point to add the toggle. The customization shown in the above mentioned example would add a dummy language toggle, so you would still have to work your own customization to implement the toggle's back-end implementation.

Regards,
Costin
Costin Sandoi
oXygen XML Editor and Author Support
felixliu
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:04 am

Re: Toggle Languages in WebHelp Responsive Output

Post by felixliu »

Costin wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 11:08 am Hi felixliu,

There is no out-of-the-box support for this in the current implementation of WebHelp .
What you could do, would be to generate separate WebHelp output for each language in part, then you could try aggregating the outputs.
As for the language toggle, this may be added through a customization of your own.
On this page you can seen a example of a customization showing how to add custom content after the Search element in WebHelp, which you could use as a starting point to add the toggle. The customization shown in the above mentioned example would add a dummy language toggle, so you would still have to work your own customization to implement the toggle's back-end implementation.

Regards,
Costin
Hi Costin, thanks for your help. I'll look into the example.
Post Reply