Creating a Definition List/Glossary in PDF

Post here questions and problems related to editing and publishing DITA content.
clarkbrendan

Creating a Definition List/Glossary in PDF

Post by clarkbrendan »

Hi, I'm new to making DITA Content and am looking to make a relatively simple piece of user documentation (pdf) as my pilot project. While I am trying Oxygen with the 30 day free trial, I am trying not to rely on it. Therefore, any transformations I am making are done directly through DITA OT.

One of the important things in this documentation is a list of definitions that is referenced throughout the document. I considered using a definition list and xrefs, but I'd like each definition to be a separate topic to make them easier to reuse and I'm a big fan of the glossSurfaceForm and glossAcronym attributes. However, whenever I use abbreviated-form, it will display the correct text, but it won't actually link to the page where the definitions are. Whereas if I use xref with the glossEntryies/glossrefs it will link correctly but it won't display right (only displays term rather than surfaceForm and acronym)

I am using print="yes" in all of my glossrefs, in fact, if I don't, it won't even complete the transform (if I'm using a reference to it anywhere that is).

All of this works perfectly when transforming to html, but it is very important that this user documentation be in pdf format to make it more easily accessible.

Also, on another note, would someone quickly detail how I might change the formatting of the glossary so that it doesn't look like an individual section for each definition but instead more like an actual definition list ("Definitions" as title at the top, followed by a list of words with the definition next to each one). Perhaps even grouping the individual glossary entries into an intermediate file?