Newly created profile condition set won't 'stick' when applied

Post here questions and problems related to editing and publishing DITA content.
jgeekster

Newly created profile condition set won't 'stick' when applied

Post by jgeekster »

Hi there.
Total newbie to Oxygen xml. I've used conditional output in other publishing programs so am very familiar with it, but I am having trouble implementing it in Oxygen.
I can select and apply an existing profiling attribute or condition set to a topic. I can also edit an existing profile attribute such as 'props' and apply this.
These condition sets all appear when I click the filter icon in the Dita maps editor.
In fact, when I create my own profile attributes and condition sets these also appear in the Dita maps editor.
However, when I right-click a topic and select Edit Properties to apply my profile condition it doesn't 'stick'. In other words, I select it and click OK, but in the Dita maps editor the topic is not flagged with my applied colours/styles, no coloured square appears and when I Edit Properties again I can see that my profile condition has been deselected.
Additionally, if I apply my Profile Attribute to a block of text in Author view, the colours DO show up in the text BUT I get an error "Attribute 'vb3000' is not allowed to appear in element "ph".

I am at a loss.
image 1.png
image 1.png (291.27 KiB) Viewed 345 times
Radu

Re: Newly created profile condition set won't 'stick' when applied

Post by Radu »

Hi,
Some DITA editing profiling videos (basic and advanced) can be found here:
https://blog.oxygenxml.com/topics/learnDita.html
What I think the main problem in your case is:
The DITA standard only has 4-5 profiling attributes like product/platform/audience:
https://www.oxygenxml.com/dita/1.3/spec ... butes.html