SEEKING a Service - Oxygen DITA XML to PDF oOnversion Training & Implementation

Post here offers for services. Please include a detailed description of what you can do in the XML related field and eventually add references to already developed projects.
mjpatterson

SEEKING a Service - Oxygen DITA XML to PDF oOnversion Training & Implementation

Post by mjpatterson »

Hi everyone!
I am new to Oxygen Editor and I need to take the work we have in Word ( .docx) and translate it into DITA XML from which we can pull HTML5 and pdf docs.
I am really struggling to find support I can buy in to get me started.
I did find the add-in and have imported my User Guide to XML - but now I have to get it to render to pdf. Not so Easy!!!!
Does anyone out there offer teaching/coachong/rendering support?
Please respond here or email me at Mj.Patterson@AnalyzeRe.com
Thanks! :
julien_lacour

Re: SEEKING a Service - Oxygen DITA XML to PDF oOnversion Training & Implementation

Post by julien_lacour »

Hello,

I suggest you to do the following things:
  1. First, you can check here how to migrate from Word to DITA.
  2. Once all the content is converted to DITA, you may need to create a ditamap (or bookmap) file: this file is used to create a hierarchy
  3. Now you have to arrange your DITA topics in the map structure to make it look like your final output, you can use Oxygen's DITA Maps Manager for that.
  4. After creating and arranging your DITA topics, with the map opened into the DITA Maps Manager, you should be able to open the transformation scenario dialog and transform your output using the DITA Map PDF - based on HTML5 & CSS transformation.
Do not hesitate to answer here with any problem you may encounter.

Regards,
Julien
mjpatterson

Re: SEEKING a Service - Oxygen DITA XML to PDF oOnversion Training & Implementation

Post by mjpatterson »

Hi Julien,
Thank you so much for responding.
As I posted above is did already find that link and it did auto-import my word doc to dita. Yay.