"Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Having trouble installing <oXygen/>? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
paul1234
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:47 pm

"Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by paul1234 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:22 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to merge two different versions of a large number of XML documents. The header and one other node of version 1 however should remain as they are. When using the "Compare files" functionality, this works nicely, because I can specify an Xpath to ignore the header and the other node. This is respected when merging the changes from version 2 into version 1 using the "Copy all changes from right to left" function.

Since I have about 1000 documents to process, I thought I would use the "Compare directories" functionality to process them all in one go. This time however, the "Ignore nodes by Xpath" seems to only be used for the diff comparison. When I use the "Copy change from right to left", all version 1 files get replaced entirely by version 2. Is this expected behaviour? If so, would there be any other way to achieve my goal?

Thanks,

Paul

tavy
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:29 pm

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by tavy » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:53 am

Hello Paul,

The "Ignore nodes by Xpath" option is available only for Diff Files. We do not have support in Diff Directories to merge the contents of the files and ignore some nodes. The only way to merge the contents of the files and ignore nodes is by using the Diff Files.
I will add an issue on our issue tracker to analyze this use case.
Thank you for feedback.

Best Regards,
Octavian
Octavian Nadolu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

hutz
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 5:15 pm

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by hutz » Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:14 pm

Bumping this thread for related question. Using 19.1.

Can oXygen can provide me with tree compare (elements only, no attributes) at directory level?
I already ignore everything under XML Diff > Node/Type but this targets Files compare.

Thanks.

Radu
Posts: 7469
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by Radu » Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:24 am

Hi,

Did you set an ignore XPath expression in the Oxygen Preferences->"Diff / Files Comparison" page? Indeed this is not taken into account when the "Compare Directories" tool is comparing files. We have an issue registered for this.
If I did not understand your use case maybe you could give me more details.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

hutz
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 5:15 pm

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by hutz » Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:03 pm

Thanks Radu for confirming this is ongoing.

kevin1234
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 06, 2021 11:43 am

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by kevin1234 » Thu May 06, 2021 11:46 am

This feature is still relevant.
In fact, it would be the only reason for me to buy your product.

I hope this feature will come at least as an optional setting in the future.

tavy
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:29 pm

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by tavy » Thu May 06, 2021 5:19 pm

Hello,

This feature is not so easy to implement, but we have in plan to implement it in the future. Maybe we will have this implemented in the Compare Directories script. I added your comment on the issue and I increased its priority.
Thanks for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Octavian
Octavian Nadolu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

kevin1234
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 06, 2021 11:43 am

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by kevin1234 » Fri May 07, 2021 8:21 am

Thank you for your feedback.
Your hyperlink is unfortunately not working for me.
Is it some internal documentation?

tavy
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:29 pm

Re: "Ignore nodes by Xpath" in Compare Directories

Post by tavy » Fri May 07, 2021 8:35 am

I corrected the hyperlink, there was a wrong character added at the end in the link.

Post Reply