multi-select combobox for ${ask(...)}

Are you missing a feature? Request its implementation here.
Krille
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:24 pm

multi-select combobox for ${ask(...)}

Post by Krille »

Hi,

is there a plan for adding a multi-select dialog (a combobox or check boxes) to the

Code: Select all

${ask(...)}
editor variable?

If not, could you please point me to the Java-Class of the ask-Editor-Variable, so that I can write subclass of it? And where would I have to register such a Java-Class to make

Code: Select all

${myask(...)}
available besides the other editor variables?

Regards,
Christian

PS: I've seen topic10663.html.
alex_jitianu
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:11 am

Re: multi-select combobox for ${ask(...)}

Post by alex_jitianu »

Hello,

This feature didn't make it in the next release which will arrive in a couple of weeks. I can't offer any promises that it will make it in the next either because we always have to juggle with so many features, but I've added your vote for it an increase its priority.

The $ask implementation is not part of the API so you can't use it as a starting point. You need to create an Oxygen plugin that uses the Workspace Access Plugin Extension. It it you will implement an ro.sync.exml.workspace.api.util.EditorVariablesResolver. You install such a resolver ro.sync.exml.workspace.api.standalone.StandalonePluginWorkspace.getUtilAccess().addCustomEditorVariablesResolver()

There is one implemented inside our Git Client plugin, if you want a bit of inspiration.

Best regards,
Alex
Krille
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:24 pm

Re: multi-select combobox for ${ask(...)}

Post by Krille »

Hi Alex,

thank you for up-voting this!

I can think of two principal usage-APIs for such a multi-select dialogue:

A) It returns a sequence of strings. Usage would be like this:

Code: Select all

${ask('message', multiselect_combobox, ('real_value1':'rendered_value1';...;'real_valueN':'rendered_valueN'), 'default')}
B) It returns a single string. In this case, the user should be able to define a separator for joining the multiple selected items:

Code: Select all

${ask('message', multiselect_combobox, ('real_value1':'rendered_value1';...;'real_valueN':'rendered_valueN'), 'separator', 'default')}
I would be in favour of B.

Thanks for pointing me to the right classes!

Regards,
Christian
Krille
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:24 pm

Re: multi-select combobox for ${ask(...)}

Post by Krille »

Hi again,

I ended up using a CSS form based on oxy_popup() with contents provided by a schematron test. That fits my needs perfectly.

Regards,
Christian
chrispitude
Posts: 907
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 2:32 pm

Re: multi-select combobox for ${ask(...)}

Post by chrispitude »

Hi Christian,

All of what you're doing here is new to me, but it sounds quite interesting! Could you share more of what you've done?
Post Reply