V22.1, 32-bit Linux, illegal reflective access operation

Oxygen general issues.
RBVanDyke

V22.1, 32-bit Linux, illegal reflective access operation

Post by RBVanDyke »

For Linux Mint 32-bit 19.3, oXygen XML Editor 22.1 (most current version as of this date), oXygen running well under openjdk 11.0.8 2020-07-14. (Starting oXygen XML 32-bit under the open JDK for the first time, oXygen tells me that the openjdk should be supplanted with a proprietary version, I have not for almost three years experienced any problems that have led me to do that...)

ALSO, after a recent Linux Mint upgrade to version 19.3, version 22.1 of oXygen XML editor for 32-bit for Java still seems to run properly. This is consistent with oXygen XML Editor's problem free performance across three years on Linux Mint 18.3. (I'd like to upgrade to Linux 64-bit but can't for the time being.)

However, I've tried a different approach to installing oXygen on version 19.3 of Linux. I:
  1. Put oXygen in a subdirectory of my home/bin directory.
  2. Created a link to oxygen.sh and put that in my home/bin directory. This enables me to start oXygen from the BASH command line.
When I start oXygen from the BASH command line, I receive these warnings:

Code: Select all

rbv@rbv-F80Q:~/bin$ oxygen.sh 
WARNING: An illegal reflective access operation has occurred
WARNING: Illegal reflective access by ro.sync.net.protocol.Installer (file:/home/rbv/bin/oxygen/lib/oxygen.jar) to field java.net.URL.handlers
WARNING: Please consider reporting this to the maintainers of ro.sync.net.protocol.Installer
WARNING: Use --illegal-access=warn to enable warnings of further illegal reflective access operations
WARNING: All illegal access operations will be denied in a future release
Despite these WARNINGs, oXygen XML seems to be running without apparent problems.

SO -- What should I do about these WARNINGs? I have no idea what these WARNINGs mean. Or how I might best respond to them.
adrian