Diff tool error when reusing content from a Git submodule

Having trouble installing <oXygen/>? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
jhanna
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Diff tool error when reusing content from a Git submodule

Post by jhanna » Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:57 pm

I am running into an error when reusing content from a Git submodule. When I use the Oxygen Diff tool to view changes, I get an error in the Author view:
diff-tool.png
diff-tool.png (60.69 KiB) Viewed 289 times
The same error also appears in the editor in the Author view:
author-view.png
author-view.png (116.75 KiB) Viewed 289 times
I do not see any errors when using the Text view and it appears that my changes are being committed successfully. Since my content appears to be fine, I'm not too concerned about these errors. However, I wanted to share this issue just in case there is something more to it.

Is this a bug? Am I not doing something correctly? Is this expected behavior?

Thanks,
Jonathan

alex_jitianu
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:11 am

Re: Diff tool error when reusing content from a Git submodule

Post by alex_jitianu » Wed Aug 19, 2020 2:08 pm

Hello,

Thank you for reporting this issue. I've managed to reproduce it myself and I've recorded an issue to see what's going on. It is something related with submodules, because references are resolved correctly in the same repository.

When we release a fix, I will post a notice here.

Best regards,
Alex

chrispitude
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 2:32 pm

Re: Diff tool error when reusing content from a Git submodule

Post by chrispitude » Sat Aug 22, 2020 3:58 pm

jhanna, thanks for finding and reporting this. We will be looking into using Git submodules soon.

How are submodules working for you? What do you use them for?

jhanna
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Diff tool error when reusing content from a Git submodule

Post by jhanna » Tue Sep 08, 2020 6:34 pm

Sorry for the late reply. I did not have notifications turned on.

Alex, thank you for looking into this. I look forward to seeing a fix!
chrispitude wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 3:58 pm
jhanna, thanks for finding and reporting this. We will be looking into using Git submodules soon.

How are submodules working for you? What do you use them for?
I am not currently using submodules, but I'm doing some investigating for future use. What I plan to use them for is to store warehouse topics for reuse across multiple repositories. So far the tests are working well!

Regards,
Jonathan

Post Reply