Are Logical Folders Static?

<oXygen/> general issues.
jmorales
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:47 pm

Are Logical Folders Static?

Post by jmorales » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:08 am

In my project, I clicked New > Logical Folder and created a folder called Logical. Then I right-clicked that logical folder, clicked Add Folder, and browsed to a folder called Enterprise. It appeared to add the Enterprise folder and all the subfolders and files nested within it. I know it doesn't actually duplicate anything, but it seems like it's adding a reference to the Enterprise folder.

So if someone else adds a file to the Enterprise folder on disk, will it show up in the Enterprise folder inside the Logical folder in my project? I just ran into a case where it seemed like that wasn't happening. I had always assumed that when I add a logical folder and then add a physical folder inside it, I'm getting a view that will always show the current contents of that physical folder. Instead, it seems that maybe it only includes the files that were present in the physical folder when it was first added to the logical folder. Is this correct?

Is there some way to add a logical folder to a project, such that it will automatically reflect any new files that get added later to a physical folder?

I hope this is clear. Thanks!

adrian
Posts: 2575
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: Are Logical Folders Static?

Post by adrian » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:32 am

Hello,

A structure of logical folders and files is indeed static. So, if you create a logical folder and within it add all the files from within an actual folder (not the actual folder), you will always have that static list of files in that logical folder.
While the contents (direct descendants) of logical folders is static, they can have children with dynamic content, like actual folders (created by 'Add Folder') in the file system.
Any files added or removed on disk (file system) within that folder will also be visible in the Oxygen project. Note that the actual folder contents is populated when expanded (and remains that way), so a refresh/F5 might be needed on the actual folder (or parent from the project), if the actual folder has already been expanded in the Project view.

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com

jmorales
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:47 pm

Re: Are Logical Folders Static?

Post by jmorales » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:31 pm

Hi Adrian, Thanks for the explanation. I'll try the refresh/F5 if I notice that something is missing again.

If I am using Project as the scope for Find/Replace in Files, refactoring, and Resource Hierarchy/Dependencies, will that automatically include files that were recently added to an actual folder within a logical folder in the project? I don't need to do a refresh first in the Project pane, do I?

adrian
Posts: 2575
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: Are Logical Folders Static?

Post by adrian » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:45 am

Hi,

If you're using the Project (or "Selected project resources") scope for Find/Replace in Files, then you are working with what is visible in the Project view. If the folder has been expanded, you'll have to refresh it manually first, so that it sees the files added in the file system.

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com

jmorales
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:47 pm

Re: Are Logical Folders Static?

Post by jmorales » Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:53 am

Thanks, Adrian!

Post Reply