Key references not showing up in PDF

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Carl

Key references not showing up in PDF

Post by Carl »

Hi. I'm new to OxygenXML and to Dita. I'm taking over a doc set from a previous writer. He made liberal use of key references to reference topics. This has caused problems in our PDF output for some reason. What I've seen so far:
  • The referenced topic simply disappears, leaving a blank space that our reviewers flag as missing text (example: "Users can monitor data from the .")
    The referenced topic is listed, but with no hyperlinking (example: "Users can monitor data from the Monitoring page.")
    The referenced topic is listed, with a hyperlinked page reference (example: "Users can monitor data from the Monitoring page on page 30.")
I can't figure out why and when Oxygen will include or omit the reference. I've verified that the code is sound: it appears in the reusable components list, and the key references have been added to the topics. (I haven't checked every single reference though, but they look correct in my spot checks).

I believe the PDF transformation is the stock one that comes with Oxygen.

My workaround thus far has been to replace these key references with normal cross references. These always come out properly in the PDF. But what are the pros and cons of using direct cross references vs indirect key references?

Any ideas on how to troubleshoot?
Radu

Re: Key references not showing up in PDF

Post by Radu »

Hi Carl,

What version of Oxygen are you using? Does the publishing process show any errors in the Errors list when finished?
If you edit the transformation scenario, in the Parameters list there is a parameter called "fix.external.refs...", could you try to set it to "yes" and try again?

https://www.oxygenxml.com/doc/versions/ ... -refs.html

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
Carl

Post by Carl »

Hi Radu.