Configure table element to always have frame

ann.jensen
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:19 am

Configure table element to always have frame

Post by ann.jensen » Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:11 pm

Hi,
Is it possible to pre-configure in Oxygen XML Author so that a table element added in DITA will always have frame and cell separators turned on.
i.e.

Code: Select all

 <table colsep="1" rowsep="1" frame="all">
Thanks in advance,
Ann

Radu
Posts: 6539
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: Configure table element to always have frame

Post by Radu » Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:50 pm

Hi Ann,

Right now we do not have such a setting.
Probably this could be done by customizing the DITA framework customization with a custom Author action which could first call the default action for inserting a table, and then it would impose those three attribute values on the newly inserted table element. Do you want me to give you more details about this? Have you customized the DITA framework configuration until now? Have you added custom actions to it?

Or you could try to add some Schematron checks in your DITA project and complain with a warning when people forget to properly set those table attribute values:

http://blog.oxygenxml.com/2017/02/shari ... rules.html

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

ann.jensen
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:19 am

Re: Configure table element to always have frame

Post by ann.jensen » Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:54 pm

Hi Radu,
>>>>>Do you want me to give you more details about this? Have you customized the DITA framework configuration until now? Have you added custom actions to it?

Yes, it would be great to get more details to get me started.
I have only customized the DITA framework in order to add my own Schematron rules (I think :? )
I don't think I have added any custom actions to it.
Thanks,
Ann

Radu
Posts: 6539
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: Configure table element to always have frame

Post by Radu » Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:53 pm

Hi Ann,

I tried to put together a couple of steps for you:

http://blog.oxygenxml.com/2018/01/compo ... tions.html

As you already have those Schematron rules you could also try to add an extra rule checking for those attributes to be set on all tables.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

ann.jensen
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:19 am

Re: Configure table element to always have frame

Post by ann.jensen » Thu Jan 25, 2018 5:19 pm

Hi Radu,
That worked a treat :-)
Thanks for your help.
Regards,
Ann

Post Reply