keydefs cannot be found (newbie question)

Post here questions and problems related to editing and publishing DITA content.
palun

keydefs cannot be found (newbie question)

Post by palun »

Hi all,
I used to have my keydefs directly in my bookmap, inside the frontmatter element. This worked fine, but it wasn't very elegant. So I decided to move all keydefs into a separate map and then simply add a reference to this map, like so:

Code: Select all

<mapref href="../common/my_keys.ditamap"/>
The problem now is that the keydefs cannot be found any more! In Author, I get this message:
Description: Key definition 'ProductName' not found in the DITA Map. Keys are gathered from the root map: my_bookmap.ditamap.
Does this mean I have to update all my key references, in all my topics, with the path to the newly created keys map?! (Answer is probably obvious, but as I said, I'm a DITA newbie.)

Thanks!
/ulf (using Author 19.1)
Radu

Re: keydefs cannot be found (newbie question)

Post by Radu »

Hi,

Where exactly did you add that <mapref> in the bookmap?
It's hard to say what went wrong, could you maybe post some sample DITA content with how the mapref looks like and in what context you added it?
Also make sure that if you have profiling conditions applied (a DITAVAL filter for example) that the mapref is not referenced in a context which is excluded by some DITAVAL condition.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com
palun

Post by palun »

Hi Radu,

I added the mapref last in frontmatter (same place my original keydefs were). Looks like this:

<frontmatter>
<topicref format="ditaval" href="bm_GENtrace%20Operator%20Guide.ditaval" print="no" scope="peer" toc="no">
<topicmeta>
<navtitle>DITAVAL file</navtitle>
</topicmeta>
</topicref>
<preface/>
<notices/>
<booklists>
<toc/>
</booklists>
</frontmatter>
(There's probably nothing wrong with the path - the map can be opened via "Open file at cursor" in Author.)

The keydef map looks like this: