xslt + tei question

Here should go questions about transforming XML with XSLT and FOP.
saammm

xslt + tei question

Post by saammm »

hello!

i am a student who is completely new to xml/xslt, so i believe this question has a simple answer that i'm just not seeing.

i am working on an assignment that basically requires us to develop a website prototype:
1) analyse and mark up text using tei
2) design a website to display the marked-up text
3) write xsl transformations to transform the tei into content for browser
4) design paired webpages (e.g. homepage)

i have marked up and validated my tei against a schema i've created already, but i am running into problems trying to change my content into readable material online. my hope is to write some css to attach to both the xml files and the files i will create for additional webpages (again, like a homepage or 'about' page).

i added the processing instruction <?xml-stylesheet type="text/css" href="testcss.css"?> to my xml, and it is displayed correctly in the author mode on oXygen, but none of the formatting appears in my browser. (i also added <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="testcss.css"/> to my xslt document under <title>, which is what i read was the appropriate step to take.)

i don't know how to prevent one set of instructions (xslt) from overriding the other (css), and i'm not sure if that's what is happening here... apologies as i think there is a simple thing i've just missed!

many thanks for any assistance! :)
Radu

Re: xslt + tei question

Post by Radu »

Hi,
i added the processing instruction <?xml-stylesheet type="text/css" href="testcss.css"?> to my xml, and it is displayed correctly in the author mode on oXygen,
Ok, this means that the CSS matches in its selectors TEI element names and styles them in various ways.