Oxygen locks up when a file is changed by another program

<oXygen/> general issues.
SSteve
Posts: 6
Location: Sierra Foothills, CA

Oxygen locks up when a file is changed by another program

Fri Sep 23, 2005 8:58 pm

I'm using Oxygen 6.2 under OS X 10.3.9. If I use BBEdit to edit a file currently open in Oxygen, Oxygen sometimes freezes at the dialog telling me that the file was changed and asking if I want to reload the file. It doesn't always freeze, but in those instances it displays the dialog again when I click Yes. One time this morning, I clicked Yes and my entire login session crashed as if I had restarted the computer.

Has anyone else run into this?
george
Site Admin
Posts: 2100

Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:01 am

Hi,

We have not received similar reports. Anyway the crash is a JVM problem and should be reported to Apple, no matter what an application does the JVM should not crash, it should throw an Exception or an Error but not crash. Please make sure you got the latest Java updates. Let us know if the problem persists, eventually send us also the crash log at support at oxygenxml dot com to see if we spot something from there (there were cases for instance when users disabled some fonts used by Java/oXygen and that causes the JVM to crash).

Best Regards,
George
irgeek
Posts: 3

Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:16 am

Hello

I have seen similar problem under Win XP. In my case if I create a new empth XMl document and then try to paste some XML larger than 20K or so from another text editor, the CPU usage shoots to 99 - 100% and stays there. Similarly, if I have a document already open, then save over it from another program with a larger document (.20K or so) I get the behavior you described where it just hangs at the "do you want to load..." dialog, again with CPU at 100%.

I can usually (eventually) kill the oxygen process from task manager. Sometimes I just have to reboot. Was hoping the latest 6.2 might change things but no dice.

Thx
Kevin
sorin_ristache
Posts: 4144

Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:34 am

Hello,

irgeek wrote:try to paste some XML larger than 20K or so from another text editor, the CPU usage shoots to 99 - 100% and stays there.

...

I have a document already open, then save over it from another program with a larger document (.20K or so) I get the behavior you described where it just hangs at the "do you want to load..." dialog, again with CPU at 100%.


Is the text on a single line ? If yes, enable the Preferences - Editor - Format - Indent on paste option.. If no, do you use a Sun Microsystems Java virtual machine ? If you installed the <oXygen/> install kit that includes a JVM the JVM is from Sun. If you use the kit without JVM then <oXygen/> uses the default JVM set on your system. In such a case please tell us the version and vendor of the JVM listed in the Help - About dialog, the System properties tab, the java.vm.version and java.vm.vendor properties, to try to reproduce the high CPU usage. Also please specify the <oXygen/> build (Help - About - Copyright).

irgeek wrote:I can usually (eventually) kill the oxygen process from task manager. Sometimes I just have to reboot.


Why is reboot necessary ? You can't kill the JVM process ? That is a problem of the JVM or your Windows XP installation, not Java applications running inside the JVM.

Regards,
Sorin
irgeek
Posts: 3

Mon Nov 07, 2005 6:55 pm

Hi Sorin

Thx for the response. I will check the preference setting u mentioned. It may indeed be that in some cases, the XML comes across as a single line when captured.

Was somewhat surprised that current JVM version 1.4 as I have 1.5 also installed.

java.vm.vendor Sun Microsystems Inc.
java.vm.version 1.4.0_01-b03

I updated JAVA_HOME env var to 1.5 and will give that a go and let you know how that goes.

As far as y I had to sometimes reboot.... the machine wouldn't totally lock up, its just that the CPU was racing so hard at 100% that I sometimes couldnt even get Task Manager up so I could kill the process.

thx again for your response!
Kevin
irgeek
Posts: 3

Mon Nov 07, 2005 7:01 pm

Hello Again Sorin,

The "indent" preference setting u mentioned was already enabled so guess that isn't relevant after all. Let u know what happens under 1.5.

thx
kevin

Return to “Other Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests