Generate wsdl from xml schema

Oxygen general issues.
samwise

Generate wsdl from xml schema

Post by samwise »

Hi,

I'm fairly new to all things XML, so I just wondered if I could ask a vague question and get your thoughts.

Can I generate a WSDL direct from an XML Schema, using <oXygen/> :?:

I'm specifically looking at the SPML v1.0 standard from OASIS, which is a pretty complex beasty.

If this isn't possible from within the tool, how would you recommend approaching the problem :?:

Are there any tools you know of within the Apache project that do this sort of thing :?:

I will do some reading around on the subject, but I thought I'd get an expert's view on the subject.

Cheers,

Sam.
Radu

Sorry for the delay

Post by Radu »

Hi Sam

I understand you are trying to generate a sample WSDL schema based on the types or elements found in an XML Schema.
No, Oxygen does not posess this feature.

I found this link on the web: http://www.capescience.com/webservices/ ... ndex.shtml
They probably have a stylesheet which is applied on the XML Schema and outputs the WSDL file.

Hope this helps,
Regards, Radu.
samwise

Re: Sorry for the delay

Post by samwise »

Radu wrote: No, Oxygen does not posess this feature.
Ah, that's a shame.
Radu wrote: I found this link on the web: http://www.capescience.com/webservices/ ... ndex.shtml
Ahh, yes - I will certainly give that a try (though I don't currently have the modified schemas available online). Would you know of a free (open source, maybe) solution which would attempt the same thing without requiring access to the net? Do you know if anything like Xerces or something would support this? I ask because I haven't found anything from my web seaches, but I just wondered if I'd missed it buried in an obscure doc somewhere ...

No problem if this isn't something you guys have looked into.

Sam.
Radu

Post by Radu »

Hi Sam,