Show path anywhere?

Questions about XML that are not covered by the other forums should go here.
xmler

Show path anywhere?

Post by xmler »

Hi, I'm new to Oxygen XML.

I was wondering if it has the facility to show you the path as you select XML.

I know you can select a section of text, right click and Copy XPath but I'd like to see the full path just by clicking on a particular piece of text - is there a toolbar or something I can activate to do this ?

Any help appreciated
thanks
florin

Re: Show path anywhere?

Post by florin »

Hello,

You can see the XPath expression, corresponding to the section where the caret is positioned in the document, either in the XPath toolbar, or in the XPath/XQuery Builder side view.

The XPath toolbar is located in the application toolbars area. You'll have to activate the "XPath update on caret move" option located in the popup menu corresponding to the Settings button at the right side of the XPath field.

To make visible the XPath/XQuery Builder side view, activate it from the Window > Show View sub-menu. After, you'll have to activate the "Update on caret move" option located in the popup menu corresponding to the Settings button in the right side of the view's toolbar.

Whether you use the XPath toolbar or the XPath/XQuery Builder side view, please note that there is a difference between the XPath expression displayed by any of them and the XPath expression returned by the Copy XPath action - the latter also contains the position of each element, while the former does not.

Best regards,
Florin
Florin Avram
<oXygen/> XML Editor
xmler

Post by xmler »

Thanks, this is what I was after :-

"The XPath toolbar is located in the application toolbars area. You'll have to activate the "XPath update on caret move" option located in the popup menu corresponding to the Settings button at the right side of the XPath field."

I can see the path when I click in the XML now