Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Having trouble installing <oXygen/>? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
SSC
Posts: 206
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Tue Mar 24, 2015 2:10 am

Hello,

steps to reproduce:

- open an XML file in WYSIWYG view
- Right-click inside a XML tag
- Click on "Recfactoring > Rename Element" in popup menu
- Start typing a different element name

When doing this immediately the first fit with the typed character is inserted to the text control on top.

Example:

I want to rename an element to "code" in DocBook.
When trying to do this and I type "c" the word "calloutlist" is inserted directly and then results in "calloutlistode", which is not intended.

I hope my issue is clear here.

Best regards,

Simon
Simon Scholz
vogella GmbH
http://www.vogella.com
adrian
Posts: 2388

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Tue Mar 24, 2015 4:21 pm

Hi,

What version of Oxygen are you using (Help > About)?
On what platform are you running Oxygen (Windows, Linux, Mac)?
SSC wrote:When trying to do this and I type "c" the word "calloutlist" is inserted directly and then results in "calloutlistode", which is not intended.

We could not reproduce this issue in v16.1 on any platform. It's true that when you type the first letter, the first item matching it is selected from the combo box, but the rest of the name (other than what you typed) is pre-selected so you can overwrite it by continuing to type (you type over it). So after "c" it becomes "calloutlist" (bold means selected) and if you continue typing "ode" it still ends up to be "code".

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com
SSC
Posts: 206
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Thu Mar 26, 2015 1:00 am

adrian wrote:What version of Oxygen are you using (Help > About)?

16.1
adrian wrote:On what platform are you running Oxygen (Windows, Linux, Mac)?


Ubuntu 14.10

SSC wrote:When trying to do this and I type "c" the word "calloutlist" is inserted directly and then results in "calloutlistode", which is not intended.

adrian wrote:We could not reproduce this issue in v16.1 on any platform. It's true that when you type the first letter, the first item matching it is selected from the combo box, but the rest of the name (other than what you typed) is pre-selected so you can overwrite it by continuing to type (you type over it). So after "c" it becomes "calloutlist" (bold means selected) and if you continue typing "ode" it still ends up to be "code".


Here you can see my sample.
I type c and "calloutlist" is inserted in the Text Control and when I continue writing "ode" it becomes "calloutlistode" and not "code":

Image

Best regards,

Simon
Simon Scholz
vogella GmbH
http://www.vogella.com
adrian
Posts: 2388

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:05 pm

Hello Simon,

You didn't mention it, but from the screenshot we eventually figured out that you are actually using the Eclipse plugin.
Could you please tell me what distribution, version and build id of Eclipse are you using (Help > About Eclipse)?
Also, what distribution of Java is Eclipse running on?
Check in Help > About Eclipse, press Installation details and look in the Configuration tab for java.runtime.name and java.runtime.version.

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com
SSC
Posts: 206
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:49 am

Hello adrian,

Yes I am using the Eclipse plug-in.
Here are my java and oxygen installation details:

java.runtime.name=Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment
java.runtime.version=1.8.0_40-b25

com.oxygenxml.bundle.descriptor=editor
com.oxygenxml.editor.home.url=file:/home/simon/eclipse/eclipse-modeling/plugins/com.oxygenxml.editor_16.1.0.v2015012213/
com.oxygenxml.editor.lib.dir=/home/simon/eclipse/eclipse-modeling/plugins/com.oxygenxml.editor_16.1.0.v2015012213/lib
com.oxygenxml.is.eclipse.plugin=true

Best regards,

Simon
Simon Scholz
vogella GmbH
http://www.vogella.com
adrian
Posts: 2388

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:07 am

Hi,

Thank you.
Could you please also have a look in the Help > About Eclipse dialog and tell me what distribution, version and build id of Eclipse are you using?

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com
SSC
Posts: 206
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:04 am

Hello adrian,

Version: Luna Service Release 1a (4.4.1)
Build id: 20150109-0600

Best regards,

Simon
Simon Scholz
vogella GmbH
http://www.vogella.com
adrian
Posts: 2388

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:30 pm

Hi,

We reproduced a potential problem here when typing very fast two consecutive characters (only on Linux). But, it's slightly different than what you're describing.

e.g. For 'code'
When typing 'c','o' very fast followed by "de", it's possible to lose the selection after inserting "co", so you can end up with 'codede'.

I've logged a bug to analyze and resolve this.

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com
adrian
Posts: 2388

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Thu Apr 02, 2015 6:29 pm

Hi,

So, to clarify, do you also obtain this issue even when typing slowly?

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com
SSC
Posts: 206
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:04 pm

adrian wrote:Hi,

So, to clarify, do you also obtain this issue even when typing slowly?

Regards,
Adrian


Hello Adrian,

it also occurs, when I type extremely slow.
Unfortunately this issue makes the rename refactoring unusable for me.
I could also attach a screencast for you, if you want to see this.

Let me know, if a screencast would help or you need any other information on this.

Best regards,

Simon
Simon Scholz
vogella GmbH
http://www.vogella.com
adrian
Posts: 2388

Re: Rename dialog should not autocomplete directly

Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:58 am

Hi,

I understand. Unfortunately we are not able to reproduce the exact issue on our side. So it's not a matter of seeing it, but of reproducing the issue.

Could you please test this on one of the Oxygen samples (create a new "Sample XML Project") and provide a step by step procedure of what you did (or a screencast) to obtain this?

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com

Return to “Common Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest