ensure that catalog is loaded

Having trouble installing <oXygen/>? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
queshaw
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:56 am

ensure that catalog is loaded

Post by queshaw » Mon Mar 16, 2015 8:37 pm

Whenever I change a catalog or change which catalogs are used, I restart oxygen and sometimes the new catalog is used right away, sometimes not. I randomly try things until the catalog is recognized. This doesn't go over well when trying to show people editing involving the catalog.

Or, a moment ago, topicrefs in DITA maps manager have a red icon and hover text saying that the resource is not found. But, I can open the topic by clicking the reference and it opens the catalog mapped topic.

Is there a predictable way to make sure that the catalog that is specified in preferences is going to be used and it will be read the next time XML is parsed or edited?

Or can you think of some plausible user error that explains what I am experiencing?

adrian
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: ensure that catalog is loaded

Post by adrian » Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:47 pm

Hi,

What version of Oxygen are you using (Help >About)?
You don't have to restart Oxygen after changing the XML catalogs, they are immediately available.
However, you may have to reopen the involved documents to ensure no cached schemas are being used (this was especially true for older versions of Oxygen).

If you want to debug the XML catalogs, you can set Verbosity to All messages in Options > Preferences, XML > XML Catalog and look at the messages from the Catalogs view.

Make sure your XML catalog resolves the correct type of item (URI or SystemID).
If you are working with DTDs then you need to resolve publicIDs or systemIDs (public, system, rewriteSystem, etc). If you are working with XML schemas, you need to resolve URIs (it also works with SystemIDs as a fallback).

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com

queshaw
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:56 am

Re: ensure that catalog is loaded

Post by queshaw » Tue Mar 17, 2015 1:48 pm

Hi,

It's been in multiple versions of oxygen over many years. It's not a configuration problem because the catalog is found and used after some unknown combination of restarting oxygen and revalidating documents.

adrian
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: ensure that catalog is loaded

Post by adrian » Tue Mar 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Hi,

Restarting does not make any difference.
In the current version, v16.1, a manual validation (Document > Validate > Validate) reloads the catalogs, so that is sufficient.
In older versions the manual validation used cached schemas, so this didn't always work. You had to either explicitly run a manual validation without caching (from the validation popup menu in the toolbar), or just close and reopen the document (safest bet).

Regards,
Adrian
Adrian Buza
<oXygen/> XML Editor, Schema Editor and XSLT Editor/Debugger
http://www.oxygenxml.com

Post Reply