oXygen Author tool features How to

Post here questions and problems related to editing and publishing DITA content.
MVK_DCTM

oXygen Author tool features How to

Post by MVK_DCTM »

Hello All,

I am new to the oXygen Authoring tool and would like to know following things possible with Author tool ?

1. Can I link 3D or Video files to the Content or DITA Documents (as a part of content).
2. Content Localization possible ? written in English , convert in Japanese and publish to different language without re-writing the content.
3. Publishing JOB for Content on regular/ schedule basis possible to shared folder location?
4. Also, content created - DITA file /task / concept and validated how can i uplaod to Documentum CMS repository ? (It is not about creating new file from Data source Explore).

Thanks in advance!
sorin_ristache

Re: oXygen Author tool features How to

Post by sorin_ristache »

MVK_DCTM wrote:1. Can I link 3D or Video files to the Content or DITA Documents (as a part of content).
You can add a link to any resource, including a video file resource, in a DITA topic file, if you set the format attribute on the link element, usually the xref element, like:

Code: Select all

<xref href="../resource/videos/video.mp4" format="MP4"/>
For example a YouTube video can be included in a DITA topic with:

Code: Select all

<object outputclass="video">
<param name="src" value="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/VideoName"/>
</object>
The video is not played in the Oxygen Author application. It will be played only in the WebHelp format which is a HTML 5 webpage format created by the DITA WebHelp transformation. The video will be played in a web browser like Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Opera, Safari, etc. where the WebHelp page is loaded, of course only if that web browser supports that type of video.
MVK_DCTM wrote:2. Content Localization possible ? written in English , convert in Japanese and publish to different language without re-writing the content.