PDF builds successfully but doesn't exist

Oxygen general issues.
JBJ

PDF builds successfully but doesn't exist

Post by JBJ »

I'm a novice user. I am not using customizations.

On Friday, my DITA output to PDF worked fine. Monday morning, it still built successfully (no errors, says the PDF was created), but only a back-level version of the PDF opened. If I remove the back-level PDF from the Out folder. The transform is still successful but it does not create a new PDF (with changes). I also tried removing the entire Out folder and letting Oxygen rebuild it from scratch. On transform, it rebuilt the folder, but still no PDF is there.

It also started creating several other occurrences of the output directories in other places on my local. I removed all of those output directories and tried again. Again, build is successful, Out folder is created...but, no PDF.

If I take a back-level PDF and drop it into the Out folder, again, build is successful and the PDF opens, but it's the same back-level version. It won't overwrite.

Every other transform works fine (XHTML, WebHelp). This is only happening with PDF.

I also tried upgrading to 13.2 hoping that might jiggle it loose. But that didn't work either.

Oh, and I have a deadline tomorrow, naturally...

Any help is greatly appreciated!!
Radu

Re: PDF builds successfully but doesn't exist

Post by Radu »

Hi,

Oxygen uses the DITA Open Toolkit to publish DITA content to various output sources.
What do you mean by back-level PDF?
After the DITA transformation is over, in the "DITA Transformation" console tab you have the logging output of the entire publishing stage.
Could you send us the contents of this console view to the technical support email address "support@oxygenxml.com"?

Also, in the DITA Maps Manager view there is a toolbar action called "Validate and check for completeness". You can invoke it to check for linking and other types of problems in your DITA Map.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor