Bug in transformation scenarios?

Having trouble installing <oXygen/>? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
anderszvensson
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:38 am

Bug in transformation scenarios?

Post by anderszvensson » Tue Dec 14, 2010 7:15 pm

Hi,

A strange thing has happened to me a couple of times now. I have several configured transformation scenarios. But all of a sudden the wrong transformation scenario is chosen, even though I have the correct one chosen in the transformation dialog, another one is used during the transformation. This is very obvious, because each transformation scenario has different DITA-OTs configured, using different images for front page, etc.

Any idea why this is happening? It only happens sometimes, and it seems to go away if I restart Oxygen.

Regards,

Anders

Radu
Posts: 6453
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: Bug in transformation scenarios?

Post by Radu » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 am

Hi Anders,

Strange one.
Oxygen usually executes the transformation scenario which is associated with the current editor.
Are you having multiple files opened in the editor? Does each of them use a different transformation scenario?
Are you using the "Apply Transformation" button from the DITA Maps Manager view or from the main editor area?
Maybe you can think of some steps which you usually perform before this quirk happens.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

anderszvensson
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Bug in transformation scenarios?

Post by anderszvensson » Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:24 pm

Hi Radu,

No, it happens even if I only have one ditamap open. I usually have it open in the editor view. I have tried both apply transformation, and opening the configure transformation and pressing transform now. When it happens I have checked and rechecked that the correct scenario is chosen, but can't find anything wrong.

That's basically all I can say, except that I do have many transformation scenarios. But by the same token I am very used to switching between them, and it usually works fine. I'll try to look out for anything in particular that might happen before this occurs...

Regards,

Anders

Radu
Posts: 6453
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: Bug in transformation scenarios?

Post by Radu » Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:40 pm

Hi Anders,

One (confusing) aspect of the application which could explain this:
Let's say you have a file (DITA Map for example) opened in the main editor view and a DITA Map opened in the DITA Maps Manager.
If the focus is in the DITA Maps Manager and you press the "Apply Transformation" from the editor view actually the transformation will be applied on the editor opened in the DITA Maps Manager (which is considered to be the current editor).
Could this explain what you're experiencing? If so I think we could consider making some changes in Oxygen to avoid this situation.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

anderszvensson
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Bug in transformation scenarios?

Post by anderszvensson » Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:30 am

Hi Radu,

I'm not sure, it hasn't happened again since I last wrote about it. But I'll check it out!

Regards,

Anders

anderszvensson
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Bug in transformation scenarios?

Post by anderszvensson » Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:57 pm

Hi,

now it happened again. And in fact, something even stranger happened:

I had a ditamap "Map-A" opened in the editor (not ditamaps manager), and ran transformation "A". However, the results were a pdf called "Map-A" (i.e. correct filename for the file I was supposed to run), but the contents was "Map-B" and the formatting used was from the DITA OT associated with "Map-B" too, an entirely different DITA OT.

Note that no ditamap was opened at the same time, neither in the maps manager nor in the editor...

Very strange!

Regards,

Anders

Radu
Posts: 6453
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:18 pm

Re: Bug in transformation scenarios?

Post by Radu » Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:28 pm

Hi Anders,

I might have a hunch.
Do the transformations you perform use the same "temporary" and "output" folders? Do you have the "clean.temp" parameter set to "yes"?

It may be possible that you have content left-over in one of those folders and somehow ANT does not overwrite the files when transforming (it usually looks at the file timestamps for this).

The DITA OT which comes with Oxygen 12 also has a "clean.output" parameter which can be activated to remove the output before each transformation, just for cases like this.

Regards,
Radu
Radu Coravu
<oXygen/> XML Editor
http://www.oxygenxml.com

Post Reply