java.lan.OutOfMemoryError on 3.5M xml file with 2G max VM

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
esoniat

java.lan.OutOfMemoryError on 3.5M xml file with 2G max VM

Post by esoniat »

This isn't really unreasonable (but emacs can handle it ;-))
The file is 3.5M. I have 1G of ram and 2G of swap. I give
the VM 2G with -Xmx2000m -Xms512m.

Really seems like it should fit.
george
Site Admin

Post by george »

Hi,

It may help if you can make available your file so we can reproduce the problem.
We test oXygen with the similar long files and it works without problems with a maximum memory set to 256Mb. Take for instance the ot.xml from http://sunsite.unc.edu/pub/sun-info/sta ... 02.xml.zip which is ~3.5 Mb.

Best Regards,
George
fastjack

Post by fastjack »

hi, let me add something...

I also experience Out of Memory exceptions.

My situation is this: I have a master-xml file (docbook) which includes 10 other docbook files using XInclude.

When I have all files open the oxygen process already eats about 180MB of RAM, which seems quite a lot. The XML istelf is not huge, all files together take 89kB space on harddisk.

When I in this situation try to start to transform it to PDF, I happen to get these exceptions. Solution is of course to close all open files, restart oxygenxml and only open the mainfile (in which case oxygenxml takes 70MB only). Then the transformation runs.

I have 512MB of RAM and oxygenxml really pushes the limits here :). (Together with Browser - Firefox also eats 60MB nowadays - IM software - Mail client, Thunderbird ...)

So, in the end... having that experience with 89kB of XML...