Configuring {frameworks} directory location

This should cover W3C XML Schema, Relax NG and DTD related problems.
JohnFitz

Configuring {frameworks} directory location

Post by JohnFitz »

We have about 15 people who will need each need to edit the same XML files from time to time. This XML will be stored at a central location, and sync'd down to the users PC to edit. As an administrator I need to ensure that we can make changes to aspects of the DTD and have these implemented in all the XML automatically (in particular I want to be able to change "commonElements.mod" file for the group). Therefore, we'd like to maintain the DTD at a central location that each writer can sync these from. So we want to change our DTD directory from

C:\Program Files\Oxygen XML Editor 10\frameworks\dita\DITA-OT\dtd
to something like
c:\SoftwareStore\frameworks\dita\DITA-OT\dtd

How can I configure the location of this "frameworks" directory.
sorin_ristache

Re: Configuring {frameworks} directory location

Post by sorin_ristache »

Hello,

You cannot change the location of the frameworks directory but you can change the location of the DTD/schema set in the document type (Options -> Preferences -> Document Type Association) and used for validation and content completion of the XML documents of that type. For example in the DITA Map document type or in a new document type that you create you can set the Schema URI to the value

file:///C:/SoftwareStore/frameworks/dita/DITA-OT/dtd/map.dtd

instead of:

${frameworks}/dita/DITA-OT/dtd/map.dtd

If you need to use a different version of the DITA-OT you can set that in the DITA Map transformation scenario - the Custom build file parameter on the Advanced tab of the scenario edit dialog.

Regards,
Sorin
JohnFitz

Post by JohnFitz »

Thanks - I now have my DTD's sitting at a remote location.