Combined Relax NG + Schematron

Are you missing a feature? Request its implementation here.
madde001

Combined Relax NG + Schematron

Post by madde001 »

I'd like to try out some Relax NG with emebedded Schematron -- it looks like a great alternative to WXS. I'm new to both Relax NG and Schematron, though, so I'm still trying to figure out how to best set up oXygen to make document validation easy.

I see from James Clark's website that Jing has support for (?embedded ?separate) Schematron constraints in addition to Relax NG.

Can you give some tips on how to set up (Jing inside) the oXygen environment to make embedded embedded Schematron constraints function in a convenient way?

Thanks, John
madde001

Post by madde001 »

I actually did make a bit of progress on this, which might be of interest to others. From Topologi's website I downloaded their freeware Schema Validator (which is a really nice utility, btw, and very much worth having). Eddie Robertsson wrote a nice little xsl named RNG2Schtrn to extract embedded schematron from rng, which is included in that download.

A nice new (?) feature of the transformation scenarios dialog in oxygen 4.0 is that it lets you chain xslt's. So I put RNG2Schtrn as my first transform (I'm assuming Eddie R. wouldn't mind), then chained that to my copy of schematron-basic.xsl and specified saving the output of that transform (which is the compiled validation transform) in the same folder as the open file.

So now, if I "one-button" apply the transformation scenario to an .rng file that contains embedded Schematron, I get a saved version of the compiled schematron validator xslt in the same folder as the .rng.

To do the schematron validation, I still have to manually open the validator and apply it to the instance document, but it still is a little more automated.
madde001

Post by madde001 »