Schematron validation advice to a complete newbie

Post here questions and problems related to editing and publishing DITA content.
ioanC

Schematron validation advice to a complete newbie

Post by ioanC »

Hello,

First of all a bit of background ...

I must confess that I'm a complete newbie to the whole lot. I am currently looking in to the use of Schematron to implement our company's technical writing guide.

We're using the DITA (v4.1) plug-in for Eclipse and Oxygen XML (v17). Looking in to some of the existing validations schema's that are using Schematron I see that they're using ISO Schematron and XSLT 2.0.

I had a go with the Schematron book from O'Reilly but I found the whole book a bit confusing. Probably because I'm a newbie to this whole lot but also because there are so many exceptions from the rule. Nonetheless, the book seems to be a bit outdated as well.

Now a few questions if you can kindly guide me...

After going through the book and looking up the web it is my understanding that XSLT 2.0 is more powerful and I should use ISO Schematron as opposite to Schematron 1.5. Am I correct?

Looking at the validation engine I see that there are so many options: XSV, Saxon-EE 9.6, MSXML 4.0, MSXML.NET, LIBXML, DITA Validation? and last Xerces which also seem to be the default engine. Am I correct in my presumption that Xerces is the best? I would like to know why if possible and are the considerations going forward.

And finally, I have made some assertions in my attempt to implement our guide and I was not able to make the automatic validation work even though I enabled it by checking the box when I added my Schematron file. It only works when you manually validate it, any suggestions?

Also if you could recommend me any reading resources it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and I'm looking forward to hearing to you.

P.S. I've also looked a bit into xPath and XSLT before jumping ahead.

Kind regards,
Ioan
Radu