Float Property Not Working (Specialization)
Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:34 pm
Float Property Not Working (Specialization)
I'm specializing DITA to allow for a multi-column task list. I'd like for the eventual output to look like:
In HTML I'd use CSS that looked something like this:
In my Oxygen CSS file, however, the floats don't seem to be working. Here's what I currently have:
In the output, each element is pushed to the next line (as if the float is being ignored). Do floats not work in the editor? If not, is there another way to get this output? I've also tried making the elements display inline, but I haven't found a way to make the columns line up correctly using this method.
Thanks for any help,
Brian
Code: Select all
1) Motherboard Tech Remove
L Store
2) Power Supply Tech Test
Code: Select all
div { clear: both; }
span.first { display: block; width: 100px; float: left; }
span.second{ display: block; width: 100px; float: left; text-align: center; }
span.third{ display: block; width: 75px; float: left; text-align: right;}
Code: Select all
*[class~="procedure/proccommand"] {
font-weight: bold;
display: block;
font-family: Verdana;
font-size: 1.1em;
padding-left: 1em;
color: green;
float: left;
}
*[class~="procedure/proccrewmember"] {
display: block;
text-transform: uppercase;
font-weight: bold;
font-family: Verdana;
font-size: 1.1em;
float: left;
width: 50px;
}
*[class~="procedure/procresponse"] {
display: block;
font-weight: bold;
font-family: Verdana;
font-size: 1.1em;
float: left;
width: 100px;
text-align: center;
}
Thanks for any help,
Brian
-
- Posts: 4141
- Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 2:12 pm
Re: Float Property Not Working (Specialization)
Post by sorin_ristache »
Hello,
I don't know how proccommand and proccrewmember are defined. Please send us your DITA task specialization DTD, a sample XML task document and your CSS in order to understand how your specialized XML task is structured and to see what you tried in your customized CSS.
Regards,
Sorin
I don't know how proccommand and proccrewmember are defined. Please send us your DITA task specialization DTD, a sample XML task document and your CSS in order to understand how your specialized XML task is structured and to see what you tried in your customized CSS.
Regards,
Sorin
-
- Posts: 4141
- Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 2:12 pm
Re: Float Property Not Working (Specialization)
Post by sorin_ristache »
Thank you for the files. Basically you should display a procactions element as a table, procaction as a table row, and proccrewmember and procresponse as table cells, something like:
The DTD of your specialized DITA task allows independent action elements (not enclosed by an actions parent) and that creates a difficulty in rendering such an action as a table row. I suggest enforcing in the DTD the inclusion of any action in an actions parent so that an action can always be rendered as a table row in the CSS.
proccommand cannot be rendered inside the table because it resides outside the table element (actions). I suggest leaving it above the table, as a table caption, rendered as a CSS block.
I think the show-stopper might be the inability to force (in CSS) a procresponse to be rendered to the second column when it is not preceded by a proccrewmember sibling on the same table row (procaction). I suggest enforcing in the DTD both a proccrewmember and a procresponse inside a procaction even if it is an empty proccrewmember.
Regards,
Sorin
Code: Select all
*[class~="procedure/proccommand"] + *[class~="procedure/procactions"] {
display: table;
. . .
}
*[class~="procedure/proccommand"] + *[class~="procedure/procactions"] {
display: table;
border-top: thin solid black;
. . .
}
*[class~="procedure/proccrewmember"],
*[class~="procedure/procresponse"] {
display: table-cell;
. . .
}
proccommand cannot be rendered inside the table because it resides outside the table element (actions). I suggest leaving it above the table, as a table caption, rendered as a CSS block.
I think the show-stopper might be the inability to force (in CSS) a procresponse to be rendered to the second column when it is not preceded by a proccrewmember sibling on the same table row (procaction). I suggest enforcing in the DTD both a proccrewmember and a procresponse inside a procaction even if it is an empty proccrewmember.
Regards,
Sorin
Jump to
- Oxygen XML Editor/Author/Developer
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- ↳ DITA (Editing and Publishing DITA Content)
- ↳ Artificial Intelligence (AI Positron Assistant add-on)
- ↳ SDK-API, Frameworks - Document Types
- ↳ DocBook
- ↳ TEI
- ↳ XHTML
- ↳ Other Issues
- Oxygen XML Web Author
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen Content Fusion
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen JSON Editor
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen PDF Chemistry
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen Feedback
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- Oxygen XML WebHelp
- ↳ Feature Request
- ↳ Common Problems
- XML
- ↳ General XML Questions
- ↳ XSLT and FOP
- ↳ XML Schemas
- ↳ XQuery
- NVDL
- ↳ General NVDL Issues
- ↳ oNVDL Related Issues
- XML Services Market
- ↳ Offer a Service