My little gripes with oxygen...

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
dep

My little gripes with oxygen...

Post by dep »

Hello. I'm a web developer by trade... So I'm programming about 8-10 hours a day with oxygen... Doing mainly XML/XSLT, javascript, HTML, CSS, etc.. Using it long enough to definitely learn its idiosyncrasies... but overall, it's quite great.

Perhaps there are some settings that I can tweak to alleviate my gripes, but I don't know of them.. So here they are.

1) Doing inline javascript
This is definitely my biggest gripe. Oxygen doesn't seem to know what i'm doing when I'm inlining javascript.

a) When I copy/paste functions inside a document that is not a JS file (inline), it left-justifies everything when i paste it... then I have to go through my function and tab it back out so it's readable again. Very frustrating for large bits of code.

b) No syntax highlighting on the inline'd javascript code. My last editor did this and it was quite nice. But no such luck here.

2) Other gripes with the indentation
often times, i feel like i'm fighting with Oxygen as far as tabbing out my code goes sometimes... almost to the point where I wish I could just turn off oxygen's "auto tab" functionality (is that even possible?)

wishlist
my biggest wishlist item would be some macros capability... A quick-macros feature would be most excellent... Ctrl-Shift-R would start/stop the recording and then another hotkey would immediately play back the macros... fantastically powerful for quickly accomplishing redundant tasks..

you might be thinking "well, oxygen's more of an XML/XSL editor... not so much HTML, Javascript, etc" -- Well the truth of the matter is, the way technology is moving (AJAX), web authors need to fuse html, css, javascript, xsl, xml all together.. and need an editor that has the flexibility to integrate these with ease.

any tips, feedback are/is appreciated.

dep
dep

Re: My little gripes with oxygen...