Invalid Driver Name Specified

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
hgilde
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:54 pm

Invalid Driver Name Specified

Post by hgilde »

I'm trying to use the Xalan database extensions with a Sybase JDBC driver. It can't connect when run from oXygen and I get the error "Invalid Driver Name Specified!" It doesn't work from the oXygen application either but it works fine from the command line.

I'm using the Eclipse 3.1 plugin and I have the Sybase driver in the the project's classpath. I also added the driver JAR to the plugin's lib directory and to oXygen's lib directory.

I get the same error if I just put garbage for the driver and under the debugger, I see that the NodeSet being passed to sql:new is correct (which makes sense, because it works fine from the command line).

Any ideas?
hgilde
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:54 pm

Interesting info

Post by hgilde »

I changed oXygen to sue JDK 1.5 rather than 1.4.2_08 and it works fine. Interesting. It turns out that my command line path had 1.5 and when I change it to 1.4.2_05... it breaks. Looks like a bug in Xalan class loading interacting with something in JDK 1.4.2_08.
hgilde
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:54 pm

Making the Eclipse Plugin use JDK 1.5

Post by hgilde »

I've set the oXygen app to use JDK 1.5 using the .ini file... is there any way to make the Eclispe 3.1 plugin do the same?
george
Site Admin
Posts: 2095
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 2:58 pm

Post by george »

Java 1.4 contains an old version of Xalan. In oXygen standalone we set a class loader that makes sure our Xalan is used instead of the one from Java but on Eclipse we cannot do that (at least we do not do that and doing something similar did not seem trivial at the point when we introduced that in oXygen standalone). The solution is to set a newer Xalan in the endorsed folder for that Java used to run Eclipse or use Java 1.5 that does not include the old version of Xalan directly (they placed it in other packages). To specify what Java to use to Eclipse you need to pass in the command line that starts Eclipse something like:

-vm path/to/java/executable

Best Regards,
George
hgilde
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:54 pm

Post by hgilde »

My eclipse is running under 1.5 but somehow, when I apply the transformaiton, it's getting the error that happens with JDK 1.4. Meanwhile, it works fine running standalone oXygen with JDK 1.5.

I'll replace the Xalan in the endorsed folder.
Post Reply