"Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Questions about XML that are not covered by the other forums should go here.
khcy82nvh
Posts: 17

"Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Fri Nov 09, 2012 5:47 am

Hi guys

I used Oxygen to publish CHM output. The Locate button is disabled when I select a topic via"Index" tab; however, it is enabled if I select a topic via "Search" tab. Is it working mechanism of CHM, if not, any solutions for this issue?

Thanks a lot

Regards,
sorin_ristache
Posts: 4144

Re: "Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:55 am

Hi,

The Locate button is disabled when the current page is not linked in the Contents tab. It does not matter if the current tab is Search or Index, if the current page from the right side panel is not displayed in the Table of Contents from the Contents tab then the Locate button is disabled because it cannot select that page in the Contents tree. This is normal behavior in CHM files.

If the current page is linked in the Contents tab but the Locate button is disabled please send us a working set of sample files (the input files of the Oxygen transformation) for reproducing the problem. Also please specify the term that you click on the Index tab for displaying the page for which the Locate button is disabled.


Regards,
Sorin
khcy82nvh
Posts: 17

Re: "Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:12 am

Thanks for your reply

I have sent a sample working copy to Technical Support of Oxygen to reproduce the issue.

I am looking forward to your solutions.

Regards,
sorin_ristache
Posts: 4144

Re: "Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:31 pm

Hi,

You are right, the Locate button is disabled when a topic is opened by a double click on a term in the list of index terms in the Index tab, even though that topic is linked in the Table of Contents (the Contents tab). The Locate button does not work correctly for the Index tab, although it always works correctly for the Search tab. Unfortunately the options in the Microsoft HTMLHelp compiler project file are undocumented (only some unofficial and incomplete documentation is available for HHP project files) and the values that we tried for the CHM toolbar buttons do not seem to fix the Locate button behavior for the Index tab. We hope to find a fix in the future for this minor annoyance.


Regards,
Sorin
khcy82nvh
Posts: 17

Re: "Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:39 pm

Hi

Even though the Locate button is disabled when selecting an topic in Index tab, I still have some concerns.

For example, when I select a topic in Index tab, and switch to Content tab; in my opinion, the topic I have chosen previously in Index tab must be highlighted or reflected in Content tab. Am I correct about his assumption? However in reality, with the sample working set that I sent to Oxygen Technical Support, the topic I chose in Index tab are not highlighted or reflected in Content tab.

I am wondering whether I had defined <indexterm> incorrectly in DITA files.

Thanks
sorin_ristache
Posts: 4144

Re: "Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:20 am

Hi,

khcy82nvh wrote:For example, when I select a topic in Index tab, and switch to Content tab; in my opinion, the topic I have chosen previously in Index tab must be highlighted or reflected in Content tab. Am I correct about his assumption?


The topic must be highlighted in Content tab only if the switch from the Index tab to the Content tab is performed by pressing the Locate button. That assumes the Locate button is enabled when the current tab is the Index tab. Unfortunately this is exactly the problem (which we don't have a fix for, yet) with the CHM output file created by the DITA transformation: the Locate button is disabled when the current tab is the Index one.


Regards,
Sorin
khcy82nvh
Posts: 17

Re: "Locate" button is disabled in Index tab of CHM output

Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:49 pm

Hi

I get it, finally.

Please get me informed when Oxygen has the batch to fix this problem.

Thanks for your valuable feedback

Regards,

Return to “General XML Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest