disable menu items context-sensitive

Oxygen general issues.
Chemo

disable menu items context-sensitive

Post by Chemo »

hi.

i am new to oxygen and already tried to find a solution to my problem in this forum and the manual w/o any success.

i have a menu containing all the elements of my lexicography of my xml document type (the way you create one at Preferences->Document Type Associations -> 'document type' -> edit -> Author -> Menu).
i'd now like to let oxygen to grey out the menu items (actions), that are not allowed in the cursor context for a better and more intuitive usage by authors.
at the moment the menu shows all possible tags, only warning the author when he tries to use a tag in the false context. i can also restrict the usage of context-false actions by naming the valid XPath expression of the context in Preferences->Document Type Associations-> 'document type' ->Author->Actions-> 'action' ->Edit, but the author can still not tell context-valid tags apart from non-valids in the menu.

is there a way to disable menu items by the cursor context?

thanks, thomas.
Radu

Re: disable menu items context-sensitive

Post by Radu »

Hi Thomas,

Indeed by default Oxygen does not toggle the enable/disable states for actions based on whether the XPath expressions for that certain action are fulfilled. This is done because the actions can be many and evaluating XPath expression on each caret move can lead to performance problems.

But since Oxygen 12.1 we added some API which allows you to do this yourself.
If you have your own ro.sync.ecss.extensions.api.ExtensionsBundle implementation you can overwrite the method:

Code: Select all

ro.sync.ecss.extensions.api.ExtensionsBundle.createAuthorExtensionStateListener()
and when the extension state listener gets activated you can use the API like:

/**
* @see ro.sync.ecss.extensions.api.AuthorExtensionStateListener#activated(ro.sync.ecss.extensions.api.AuthorAccess)
*/