Organisation of DITA elements

Elements in DITA are grouped together into a number of categories for organisational and comprehension purposes.

DITA elements can be broadly categorised as follows:

  • topic elements
  • map elements
  • body elements
  • prolog elements
  • domain elements
  • specialisation elements

In fact, this is how the DITA Language Reference groups DITA elements. This categorisation of the various elements is partly to aid understanding, and partly to make it technically easier for the schema files (DTD and XSD) to be managed.

Elements used within topics can also be differently categorised as block or phrase elements.