Page 1 of 1

bug with <x:copy> on namespaced attributes

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:54 pm
by wpsboy
hi,

i've some issue with xsl transform when i'm using <x:copy> tag.
I don't know if it is a know bug or if i do something wrong.

It seem like Xalan processor can't copy namespaced attributes.
I've give an example for more understanding.

My xml File

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<?xml-stylesheet href="xsl.xsl" type="text/xsl"?>

<tag xmlns:test1="namespace" test2="noNamespace" />
My xsl File (xsl.xsl)

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<xsl:stylesheet version="1.0" xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform">

<xsl:template match="/tag">
<xsl:copy>
namespaced attribute : <xsl:apply-templates select="@xmlns:test1"/>
</xsl:copy>
|||
<xsl:copy>
normal attribute : <xsl:apply-templates select="@test2"/>
</xsl:copy>
</xsl:template>

</xsl:stylesheet>
Result in browser

Code: Select all

namespaced attribute : ||| normal attribute : noNamespace
anyone can help ??


Thanks in advance

Fabrice.

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:54 am
by george
Hi Fabrice,

The namespace declarations look like attributes but they are not attributes. In fact I cannot get your sample stylesheet to work neither with Xalan nor with Saxon.
You can access the namespace declarations on the namespace axis like below:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<xsl:stylesheet version="1.0" xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform">
<xsl:output method="text"/>
<xsl:template match="/tag">
namespaces:
<xsl:for-each select="namespace::*">
[<xsl:value-of select="."/>]
</xsl:for-each>

test2:<xsl:value-of select="@test2"/>
</xsl:template>
</xsl:stylesheet>
This will give you

Code: Select all


namespaces:

[http://www.w3.org/XML/1998/namespace]

[namespace]


test2:noNamespace
Best Regards,
George

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:22 pm
by wpsboy
thanks george for reply!

I've now more understanding about namespace.

but that 's not resolve my issue.

I think it is really a bug...

I will try to do copy by hand.
Do you know how to insert < or > charactere to output ?

Best regards,

Fabrice.

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:07 pm
by george
Hi,

Use [ code ] and [ / code ] without spaces to enclose the content you want to post.

Code: Select all

<>

Best Regards,
George

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:12 pm
by george
Sorry :)
It seems you want to output < and > as the XSLT output...
You can just write them as any other characters and they will be encoded in the output. However, if the output is XML they will be escaped, if the output is text they will appear as they are.

Best Regards,
George