Page 1 of 1

Problem running iexplorer with current code w/ external tool

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:34 am
by RLMuller
I'm running OxygeXML 6.2 on WinXP-Pro/SP2. I created an external tool named IE with the command line

Code: Select all

iExplore.exe K:\_Tutorials\HTML\$11-HTML_Div-and-Tables\Div-and-Tables.HTML
.

I got the error message

Code: Select all

Could not start: CreateProcess: iExplore.exe K:\_Tutorials\HTML\$11-HTML_Div-and-Tables\Div-and-Tables.HTML error=2
Process ended with exit code: -1234567


However,when I copied the command from within the error message and pasted it into a Command window, it opened an Internet Explorer window and interpreted the HTML code correctly.

Any ideas, anyone?

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:15 am
by sorin_ristache
Hello,

If it works from the command line from any directory then iexplore.exe is added to the PATH variable and you have to launch IE indirectly through the command shell which knows about the PATH variable:

Code: Select all

cmd /c iexplore.exe K:\_Tutorials\HTML\$11-HTML_Div-and-Tables\Div-and-Tables.HTML
Regards,
Sorin

That did it! How about symolically referencing the open doc?

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:29 pm
by RLMuller
Hi Sorin,

Great solution!! Thanks.

One more question: Is it possible to symbolically reference the current, open document with something like $1 or &1, rather than having to re-edit the command every time my interest shifts to a different document?

I'll bet I have to hunt around on this site to find out how to suggest that this feature be added in a future release.

Regards,
Richard

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:21 pm
by george
Hi Richard,

Check the Inser macro action, it is on a "..." with a down arrow button ject before the Browse button. There you can see all the available macros. For current file use:

${cf}

Your command line should look like:

cmd /c iexplore.exe ${cf}

Best Regards,
George

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:02 am
by RLMuller
Very cool, George! Thanks.

Regards,
Richard