some direction needed

Questions about XML that are not covered by the other forums should go here.
MAatHome

some direction needed

Post by MAatHome »

Dear list, (apologies for the long intro)

As a programmer, I have been involved in technical writing for too long. I've used IBM script, ISIL, BookMaster, etc in the early days, through the standard set of WYSIWYGs from Adobe, etc. I really liked ISIL -> BookMaster, was able to generate documents with a layout flexibility just not seen in any of the WYSIWYGs ... imo.

So, I've found myself on the board of a carriage driving (yes, with horses) organization where we have a set of rules. Right now, its about 230 pages in Word, which is about 185 pages too many for Word (again, imo). Though our carriages seem to be a part of a different era (actually they are quite sophisticated) we perceive a need to be more efficient and flexible in how are rules are delivered. Currently, we generate a PDF from the Word document that isn't the best and we would like to generate more native formats for Kindles, iPads, iPhones, etc as well as being readable and printable. We have a number of issues to be considered, we have annual updates, we feed part of our rulebook to at least one other organization and we also have a requirement to produce customized ('per-level') rulebooks, I'd like to be able to provide customized tagging (we call various subsections "articles" for example, so I'd like to use a tag named <article>), and automatically generated TOCs and tagged indexes, and so on.

I've decided to give XML a try. It would more easily allow setting up some source control with SVN and seems like it might have the flexibility to do the conditional text inclusion as well as support all the various devices.