"Problems" window stealing focus in Eclipse 3.3

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
cjenkins

"Problems" window stealing focus in Eclipse 3.3

Post by cjenkins »

I am using Eclipse 3.3 and oXygen 8.2 under Linux, and find when I am editing an XSL file with the editor window maximized (under the oXygen XML perspective) if I pause in the middle of an element for more than a second the "Problems" window pops up with an error, stealing focus from the editor. I don't mind the realtime syntax checking (in fact I like it) if it didn't keep popping that window up and stealing focus.

I've never had any problems using the standalone version (8.1 or 8.2) and this is my first attempt at using the eclipse plugin, although co-workers (using earlier versions of eclipse on windows) assured me that does not happen on theirs.

-Thanks!
sorin_ristache

Post by sorin_ristache »

Hello,

I cannot reproduce the problem. I tried on a SUSE Linux with the oXygen plugin build number 2007062505 in Eclipse 3.3 build number I20070625-1500. What is your window manager?

Regards,
Sorin
kingargyle

Post by kingargyle »

I'm experiencing the same issue under Eclipse 3.3 and Oxygen 8.2, under Windows. It is most noticeable when the Editor is maximized, and there are errors in what ever you are editing. I've experience it in the XML, WSDL, XQuery, and XSL editors.
sorin_ristache

Post by sorin_ristache »

I can reproduce it too with the editor maximized. It seems to be a bug in the Eclipse 3.3 platform. In previous versions of Eclipse the focus does not go to the Problems view when a marker is added to this view. We will see if we can find a workaround. You can avoid the problem by disabling "Validate as you type" in Window -> Preferences -> oXygen -> Editor -> Document Checking.

Regards,
Sorin
cjenkins

Post by cjenkins »