PDF Transformation Time

Post here questions and problems related to editing and publishing DITA content.
thedantanner

PDF Transformation Time

Post by thedantanner »

I am working on optimizing our DITA custom PDF transformations, which sometimes take over an hour to process. I have tried several things that I've found here in the forums, but nothing seems to make much difference. I'm still pretty new to Oxygen and DITA so I'm sure there's a solution that I'm simply not seeing.

The ditamap I'm testing with has approximately 500 topics. I use a good number of conrefs throughout the document which are all stored in two files.

A few of the things I have done so far to try to speed things up:

1. I found the "copy media audio/video" files code and commented that out.
2. I increased the memory usage to 2000m.
3. I recently changed the output and temp locations from ${cfd} to dedicated output folders for each of our writers. For example: repository/output/dan/out/pdf. I left the base directory set to ${cfd} (because I really don't know what that does).

I also recently noticed that the transform scenario is trying to search for files outside of our repository directory. That's how I noticed that videos were being copied into the temp folders. I'm thinking that if I new how to stop the scenario from trying find things outside of our repository, the process would speed up dramatically.

Here's our repository structure:

repository
+topics
++++01
++++02
++++03
++++conrefs
++++preface
+ditamaps
+relationshiptables
+partspages

Any help or advice is appreciated. If more details are needed, please ask and I'll provide what I can. Again, I'm still pretty new, so talk slowly. ;)

Cheers,
Dan
Radu

Re: PDF Transformation Time

Post by Radu »

Hi Dan,

What version of Oxygen are you using?

Please see some answers below:
1. I found the "copy media audio/video" files code and commented that out.