Edit online

The behavior of the Track Changes feature depends on the context, the type of change, and whether or not it is activated.

Inserting Content

If the Track Changes feature is disabled and you insert content, the following behavior is possible:
  • Making an insertion in a Delete change results in the change being split in two and the content is inserted without being marked as change.
  • Making an insertion in an Insert change results in the change being split in two and the content is inserted without being marked as change.
  • Making an insertion in regular content results in a regular insertion.
If the Track Changes feature is enabled and you insert content, the following behavior is possible:
  • Making an insertion in a Delete change results in the change being split in two and the current inserted content appears marked as an INSERT.
  • Making an insertion in an Insert change results in the following:
    • If the original insertion was made by another user, the change is split in two and the current inserted content appears marked as an INSERT by the current author.
    • If the original Insert change was made by the same user, the change is just expanded to contain the inserted content. The creation time-stamp of the previous insert is preserved.
  • If inserted in regular content, the current inserted content appears marked as an Insert change.

Surrounding Content

If the Track Changes feature is enabled and you surround content in a new XML element, the following behavior is possible:
  • Making a surround in a Delete change results in nothing happening.
  • Making a surround in an Insert change results in the following:
    • If the original insertion was made by another user, the change is split in two and the surround operation appears marked as being performed by the current author.
    • If the original Insert change was made by the same user, the existing change is just expanded to contain the surrounded content.
  • Making a surround in regular content results in the operation being marked as a surround change.

Deleting Characters

If the Track Changes feature is disabled and you delete content character by character, the following behavior is possible:
  • Deleting content in an existing Delete change results in nothing happening.
  • Deleting content in an existing Insert change results in the content being deleted without being marked as a deletion and the INSERT change shrinks accordingly.
  • Deleting in regular content results in a regular deletion.
If the Track Changes feature is enabled and you delete content character by character, the following behavior is possible:
  • Deleting content in an existing Delete change results in the following:
    • If the same author created the Delete change, the previous change is marked as deleted by the current author.
    • If another author created the Delete change, nothing happens.
  • Deleting content in an existing Insert change results in the following:
    • If the same author created the Insert change, the content is deleted and the Insert change shrinks accordingly.
    • If another author created the Insert change, the Insert change is split in two and the deleted content appears marked as a Delete change by the current author.
  • Deleting in regular content results in the content being marked as a Delete change by the current author.

Deleting Selections of Content

If the Track Changes feature is disabled and you delete a selection of content, the following behavior is possible:
  • If the selection contains an entire Delete change, the change disappears and the content is deleted.
  • If the selection intersects with a Delete change (starts or ends in one), it results in nothing happening.
  • If the selection contains an entire Insert change, the change disappears and the content is deleted.
  • If the selection intersects with an Insert change (starts or ends in one), the Insert change is shrunk and the content is deleted.
If the Track Changes feature is enabled and you delete a selection of content, the following behavior is possible:
  • If the selection contains an entire Delete change, the change is considered as rejected and then marked as deleted by the current author, along with the other selected content.
  • If the selection intersects a Delete change (starts or ends in one), the change is considered as rejected and marked as deleted by the current author, along with the other selected content.
  • If the selection contains an entire Insert change, the following is possible:
    • If the Insert is made by the same author, the change disappears and the content is deleted.
    • If the Insert is made by another author, the change is considered as accepted and then marked as deleted by the current author, along with the other selected content.
  • If the selection intersects an Insert change (starts or ends in one), the Insert change shrinks and the part of the Insert change that intersects with the selection is deleted.

Deleting Tags

Assuming you are using any of the Tag Display Modes other than No Tags and the Track Changes feature is disabled, if you delete a start or end tag, both the start and end tag will be removed, while any content that was inside the element is preserved.

Assuming you are using any of the Tag Display Modes other than No Tags and the Track Changes feature is enabled, if you delete a start tag of an inline element, both the start and end tag are marked as a Delete change by the current author, while any content that was inside the element is preserved.

Copying Content

If the Track Changes feature is disabled and you copy content, if the copied area contains Insert or Delete changes (or attribute edits), these are also copied to the clipboard.

If the Track Changes feature is enabled and you copy content, if the copied area contains Insert or Delete changes (or attribute edits), these are all accepted in the content of the clipboard (the changes will no longer be in the clipboard).

Pasting Content

If the Track Changes feature is disabled and you paste content, if the clipboard content contains Insert or Delete changes (or attribute edits), they will be preserved on paste.

If the Track Changes feature is enabled and you paste content, if the clipboard content contains Insert or Delete changes (or attribute edits), all the changes are accepted and then the paste operation proceeds according to the insertion rules.