Edit online

In the situation when your file is in conflict but you decide that your working copy file and its content is the correct one, you can decide to drop some or all of the incoming changes and commit afterwards. The action Mark as merged proves to be useful in this case too. After opening the conflicting files with Compare view, Editor or editing their properties in the Properties view and deciding that your file can be committed in the repository replacing the existing one, you should use the Mark as merged action. When you want to override completely the remote file with the local file you should run the Override and commit action, which drops any remote changes and commits your file.

In general it is much safer to analyze all incoming and outgoing changes using the Compare view and only after to update and commit.