History | Edit

The Results view displays the messages generated as a result of user actions such as validations, transformations, search operations, and others. Each message is a link to the location related to the event that triggered the message. Double-clicking a message opens the file containing the location and positions the cursor at the location offset. The Results view is automatically opened when certain actions generate result messages.
Tip: To shift focus to the opened Results view without using the mouse, there is an action in the Window > Results menu called Focus Results that can be used for this purpose and you can assign a keyboard shortcut to this action.

Figure: Results View

Results View Toolbar Actions

The view includes a toolbar with the following actions:

Grouping options drop-down menu
A set of Group by toggle actions that allow you to group the messages according to a selected criteria so that they can be presented in a hierarchical layout. The criteria used for grouping can be the severity of the errors (error, warning, info message, etc.), the resource name, the description of the message, and so on.
This drop-down menu also includes the following additional grouping actions:
Ungroup all
Removes the grouping rules so that the messages are presented in a continuous list.
Show group columns
If any of the Group by options are selected, you can use this option to show or hide grouping columns.
Restore Defaults
Restores the column size for each column and the grouping rules that were saved in the user preferences the last time when this view was used. If it is the first time this view is used, the action sets an initial default column size for each column and a grouping rule that is appropriate for the type of messages. For example:
Highlight all results in editor
Oxygen XML Editor highlights all matches obtained after executing an XPath expression, or performing one of the following operations: Find All, Find in Files, Search References, and Search Declarations. Click Highlight all results in editor again to turn off highlighting.
Note: To customize highlighting behavior, open the Preferences dialog box (Options > Preferences) and go to Editor > Highlights category. You can do the following customizations:
  • Set a specific color of the highlights depending on the type of action you make.
  • Set a maximum number of highlights that the application displays at any given time.
Remove selected
Removes the current selection from the view. This can be helpful if you want to reduce the number of messages or remove those that have already been addressed or not relevant to your task.
Remove all
Removes all messages from the view.

Results View Contextual Menu Actions

The following actions are available when the contextual menu is invoked in this view:

Show message
Displays a dialog box with the full error message, which is useful for a long message that does not have enough room to be displayed completely in the view.
Previous message
Navigates to the message above the current selection.
Next message
Navigates to the message below the current selection.
Remove selected
Removes selected messages from the view.
Remove all
Removes all messages from the view.
Copy
Copies information associated with the selected messages. For example:
  • The file path of the document that triggered the output message.
  • The path of the master file (in the case of a validation scenario, it is the path of the file from which the validation starts and can be different from the validated file).
  • Error severity (error, warning, info message, etc.)
  • Name of validating processor.
  • Name of validation scenario.
  • The line and column in the file that triggered the message.
Select All
Extends the selection to all the messages from the view.
Print Results
Sends the complete list of messages to a printer. For each message, the included details are the same as the ones for the Copy action. This action is also available in the Window > Results menu.
Save Results
Saves the complete list of messages in a file in text format. For each message, the included details are the same as the ones for the Copy action. This action is also available in the Window > Results menu.
Save Results as XML
Saves the complete list of messages in a file in XML format. For each message, the included details are the same as the ones for the Copy action.
Save Results as HTML
Saves the complete list of messages in a file in HTML format. For each message, the included details are the same as the ones for the Copy action.
Group by
A set of Group by toggle actions that allow you to group the messages according to a selected criteria so that they can be presented in a hierarchical layout. The criteria used for grouping can be the severity of the errors (error, warning, info message, etc.), the resource name, the description of the message, and so on.
Ungroup all
Removes the grouping rules so that the messages are presented in a continuous list.
Show group columns
If any of the Group by options are selected, you can use this option to show or hide grouping columns.
Restore Defaults
Restores the column size for each column and the grouping rules that were saved in the user preferences the last time when this view was used. If it is the first time this view is used, the action sets an initial default column size for each column and a grouping rule that is appropriate for the type of messages. For example:
Expand All
Expands all the nodes of the tree, which is useful when the messages are presented in a hierarchical mode.
Collapse All
Collapses all the nodes of the tree, which is useful when the messages are presented in a hierarchical mode.