History | Edit

When you configure the Oxygen XML Editor options, you can store them globally or bind them to a specific project by choosing the appropriate setting in the preferences pages. They can then be shared with others by exporting the global options or by sharing the stored project-level files. The same is true with transformation and validation scenarios.

For each preferences page, you can choose between Global Options and Project Options depending upon how you want to store the options in that particular preferences page.
Note: Some pages do not have the Project Options button, since the options they host might contain sensitive data (passwords, for example), unsuitable for sharing with other users.
If changes have been made to the options in a preferences page and you switch between Project Options and Global Options, a dialog box will be displayed that allows you to select one of the following:
  • Overwrite - The existing options from the current preferences page will be overwritten.
  • Preserve - The existing options from the current preferences page will be preserved.

Figure: Controlling the Storage Options for the Preferences

Global Options

By default, Global Options is selected in the preferences pages, meaning that the options are stored locally on your computer and are not accessible to other users (unless you export them into an XML options file that can then be shared).

Global options are stored locally in option files (for example, oxyOptionsSa18.1.xml for a standalone distribution of Oxygen XML Editor version 18.1) located in the following directories:
  • Windows (Vista, 7, 8, 10) - [user_home_directory]\AppData\Roaming\com.oxygenxml
  • Windows XP - [user_home_directory]\Application Data\com.oxygenxml
  • Mac OS X - [user_home_directory]/Library/Preferences/com.oxygenxml
  • Linux/Unix - [user_home_directory]/.com.oxygenxml

Project Options

If you select Project Options, the preferences are stored in the project file (.xpr), which can easily be shared with other users.
Note: Some pages do not have the Project Options button, since the options they host might contain sensitive data (passwords, for example), unsuitable for sharing with other users.