Using a SharePoint Repository

Oxygen XML Web Author includes a SharePoint plugin that allows you to edit files stored in a SharePoint repository. The procedure in this topic assumes that this plugin is enabled in your installation of Oxygen XML Web Author.

Open or Create File Stored in a SharePoint Repository

To open a file stored in a SharePoint repository, use the dedicated SharePoint icon () in the Open section of the main dashboard (a Choose File dialog box will be displayed that allows you to browse for the file). The first time this dialog box is opened, you will be presented with the available root sites that can be accessed.
Note: The SharePoint plugin can only browse resources from SharePoint Online (URLs like: https://domain.sharepoint.com/) or One Drive (URLs like https://domain-my.sharepoint.com/).

To create a new file, use the dedicated SharePoint icon () in the New section (a Choose Template dialog box will be displayed). For information, see Creating or Opening Documents.

If your connection has not yet been configured, a dialog box will be displayed that provides instructions for configuring and selecting the URL for the connection. For more information, see Configure a Plugin.

Checking in and Checking out SharePoint Resources

SharePoint integrations include some toolbar buttons that allow you to easily check resources in or out. These SharePoint-specific actions are as follows:

Check Out
Use this action to check out the currently edited document. After a successful check out, the file name will be decorated with a distinctive mark () to indicate that the file is currently checked out and this Check Out button becomes unavailable.
Check In

Use this action to check in the currently edited document. The file can only be checked in if it was previously checked out by the current user. If there are unsaved changes, you will be prompted to save the file. Selecting this action will open a dialog box that contains the check in version and allows you to enter a comment. After a successful check in, the check out decorator mark is removed from the file name and this Check In button becomes unavailable.

Discard Check Out
Use this action to discard the check out on the currently edited document. The check out can only be discarded if the file was previously checked out by the current user. When selecting this action, you will be prompted for confirmation. After a successful discard, the check out decorator mark is removed from the file name and this Discard Check Out button becomes unavailable.
Important: All the changes made to the document since the last time the file was checked out will also be discarded and the document will be reloaded.