History | Edit

Sending the changes you made to your working copy is known as committing the changes. If your working copy is up-to-date and there are no conflicts, you are ready to commit your changes.

The Commit action sends the changes from your local working copy to the repository. The Commit dialog box presents all the items that you can commit.

Figure: Commit dialog box

Enter a message to associate with the commit, or choose a previous message from the Previous messages list (the last 10 commit messages will be remembered even after restarting the SVN client application).

An item that can be committed has one of the following states: added, modified (content or properties), replaced, and deleted. All items that have one of these states are selected in the dialog box by default. If you do not want to commit one of the items, deselect it.

Attention: For SVN 1.8 working copies: when committing items that were moved and/or renamed, make sure you select both the source and the destination. Otherwise, the commit operation will fail.
Besides the items that have one of the mentioned states, Syncro SVN Client also includes the files being unversioned or missing and these items are handled automatically:
  • Unversioned items are added under version control.
  • Missing items are deleted.
Note: If the Show unversioned directories content option is not selected, the Commit dialog box does not display the items inside an unversioneddirectory.

Unversioned or missing items are not selected by default in the Commit dialog box, unless you have selected them explicitly when issuing the commit command.

Note: In some cases, items that have one of the above states are not presented in the Commit dialog box.
For example:
  • Items that have been added or replaced previously, but now are presented as missing after being removed from the file system, outside of an SVN client. Such items do not exist in the repository and you should use the Delete action to remove them from your working copy.
  • Items that have incoming changes from the repository, after a synchronization. You need to have your working copy up-to-date before committing your changes.
  • Files that, after a synchronization, appear as locked by other users or from other locations than the current working copy.
Note: Due to dependencies between items, when you select or clear an unversioned ( ) or added ( ) item in the Commit dialog box, other items with one of these states can be selected or cleared automatically.

The modifications that will be committed for each file can be reviewed in the compare editor window by double clicking a file in the Commit dialog box, or by right clicking and selecting the Show Modifications action from the contextual menu. This option is available to review only file content changes, not property changes.

The Local file status column indicates the actual state of the items and the Local properties status column indicates whether or not the properties of an item are modified.

The Lock information column is displayed if at least one of the files in the Commit dialog box has lock information associated with it, valid against the commit operation.

The following options are available in this dialog box:
  • Enable automatic properties or Disable automatic properties - enables or disables automatic property assignment (per runtime configuration rules), overriding the enable-auto-props runtime configuration directive, defined in the config file of the Subversion configuration directory.
    Note: This option is available only when there are defined properties to be applied automatically for resources newly added under version control. You can define these properties in the config file of the Subversion configuration directory, in the auto-props section. Based on the value of the enable-auto-props runtime configuration directive, the presented option is either Enable automatic properties, or Disable automatic properties.
  • Keep locks - selecting the Keep locks option preserves any locks you set on various files.
    Note: This option is available only when files that you locked are presented in the dialog box.

Each of the above options is activated only when you select an item for which the option can be applied.

Your working copy must be up-to-date with respect to the resources you commit. This is ensured by using the Update action prior to committing, resolving conflicts and re-testing as needed. If your working copy resources you are trying to commit are out of date you will get an appropriate error message.