History | Edit

To share new files and folders (created in your working copy), add them to version control using the Add to version control option from the Working Copy view.

You can easily spot resources not under version control by the (unversioned) icon displayed in the Local file status column. Resources scheduled for addition (added) are displayed with this icon in the Working Copy view and are added in the repository after you commit them.
Note: Do not make a confusion between and icons. The former icon stands for resources that are actually copies of resources already committed in the repository, meaning they are scheduled for addition with history.

When you use the Add to version control option on a directory, its entire structure is scanned and all the resources that can be added under version control are presented.

Although it is not mandatory to add resources under version control explicitly, it is recommended. If you forgot to add a resource, when you commit your changes, the resource is presented in the commit dialog box, but not selected. When you commit and unversioned resource, it is automatically added under version control before starting the commit operation.

Figure: Add to Version Control Dialog Box

Note: Ignored () items can also be added under version control.
The Depth column is displayed only when directories are also presented in the dialog box. For any directory, you can use one of the available values to instruct Subversion to limit the scope of the operation to a particular tree depth.
Note: The initial value of the Depth field can have the following values, depending on the listing mode of the items in the working copy view:
  • infinity - When the working copy items are presented as a tree.
  • files - When the working copy items are presented compressed.
  • empty - When the working copy items are presented flat.
When you add unversioned or ignored directories, the initial value of the Depth field also depends on the state of the Show unversioned directories content and Show ignored directories content options. If these options are selected, the value is based on the listing mode of the items in the working copy view. When they are not selected, the value is empty .
The following options are available in this dialog box:
  • Enable automatic properties or Disable automatic properties - enables or disables automatic property assignment (per runtime configuration rules), overriding the enable-auto-props runtime configuration directive, defined in the config file of the Subversion configuration directory.
    Note: This option is available only when there are defined properties to be applied automatically for resources newly added under version control. You can define these properties in the config file of the Subversion configuration directory, in the auto-props section. Based on the value of the enable-auto-props runtime configuration directive, the presented option is either Enable automatic properties, or Disable automatic properties.
  • No ignore - when you select this option, file-name patterns defined to ignore unversioned resources do not apply. Resources that are located inside an unversioned directory selected for addition, and match these patterns, are also scheduled for addition in the repository.
    Note: This option is available only when directories are also presented in the dialog box.
    You can define file-name patterns to ignore unversioned resources in one of the following locations:

Each of the above two options is activated only when you select an item for which the option can be applied.