Add / Edit / Remove Repository Locations

Usually, team members do all of their work separately, in their own working copy, and then must share their work by committing their changes. This is done using an Apache Subversion™ repository. Oxygen XML Developer supports versions 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, and 1.8 of the SVN repository format.

Before you can begin working with a Subversion repository, you must define a repository location in the Repositories view.

To create a repository location, use the New Repository Location... action that is available in the Repository menu, the Repositories view toolbar, and in the contextual menu. This action opens the New Repository Location dialog box, which prompts you for the URL of the repository you want to connect to. You can also use peg revisions at the end of the URLs (for example, URL@rev1234) to browse only that specific revision. No authentication information is requested at the time the location is defined. It is left to the Subversion client to request the user and password information when it is needed. The main benefit of allowing Subversion to manage your password is that it prompts you for a new password only when your password changes.

Once you enter the repository URL, Oxygen XML Developer tries to contact the server to get the content of the repository for displaying it in the Repositories view. If the server does not respond in the timeout interval set in the preferences, an error is displayed. If you do not want to wait until the timeout expires, you can use the Stop button from the toolbar of the view.

To edit a repository location, use the Edit Repository Location... action that is available in the Repository menu and in the contextual menu. This action opens the Edit Repository Location dialog box, which prompts you for the URL of the repository you want to connect to. You can also use peg revisions at the end of the URLs (for example, URL@rev1234) to browse only that specific revision.

To remove a repository location, use the Remove Repository Location... action that is available in the Repository menu and in the contextual menu. A confirmation dialog is displayed to make sure that you do not accidentally remove the wrong locations.

The order of the repositories can be changed in the Repositories view at any time with the Up arrow and Down arrow buttons on the toolbar of the view. For example, pressing the up arrow once moves the selected repository in the list up one position.

To set the reference revision number of an SVN repository use the Change the Revision to Browse... action that is available in the Repository menu and in the contextual menu. The revision number of the repository is used for displaying the contents of the repository when it is viewed in the Repositories view. Only the files and folders that were present in the repository at the moment when this revision number was generated in the repository are displayed as contents of the repository tree. Also, this revision number is used for all the operations executed directly from the Repositories view.